Phone "mutes" in middle of call

Discussion in 'Android Support' started by becca, Jun 27, 2010.

  1. vzwtek

    vzwtek Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    did you even try the app? Motorola has not issued any tech bulletins for that issue. Before I would say its a "wide spread" problem, i would try a few things like that first.
     
  2. Dinomight

    Dinomight New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    What ver of android are you running. I'm guessing 2.2. Because of a simple line of code changed in the release of 2.2 the phone has a new and in my opinion undesireable feature. What happens is that you are placing the phone to you face which turns off the screen but then chances are that you are holding it to your face using your sholder. In the old ver of android doing this wouldn't do anything. With 2.2 as soon as the phone goes horizontal the screen turns back on.... reguardless of whether or not the proximity sensor is active. your cheek then touches the mute or end call button, and there is your problem.

    Here is a test you can do.
    dial a number. then hold your had over the upper left corner of the phone.
    Your phone screen should turn off. now turn the phone flat (horizontal) but leave your hand covering the proximity sensor (upper left). Viola, the screen turned back on.

    When you do turn your head balancing the phone on your sholder, your cheek then touches either the mute or the end call button, which causes your problems.

    There is a way to fix this but it involves commenting out a line of the phone apk's source code then compiling it and replacing the existing phone.apk file with the new fixed phone.apk

    As far as i know there is only one 2.2 rom where the developer fixed the problem. (sumply stunning froyo).

    My wife has the same problem so i'm going to be placing a good phone apk on her phone.

    I guessing there is nothing wrong with your phone but your issue is with this dumb 2.2 code change.
     
  3. JenniB

    JenniB New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've been having the same problem and after checking like you said, i noticed you're right. Thanks :)
     
  4. vzwtek

    vzwtek Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just because you dont see an icon, doesn't mean its not happening. Tedds droid tool is free and has solved it for people who ask me about that, so....... do whatever you want or you can just complain constantly that that is not the problem.
     
  5. Dinomight

    Dinomight New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Fix

    So i have a fix for the problem that should work on any 2.2 rom. Currently it requires you to use adb shell to remount the system partition as rw then copy over 2 apk files in to /system/app/ and then remount as r only. This is not really a big deal but i know it's not for everyone, so i am trying to package it as a zip that can be installed via clockworkmod or the rom manager. I'll post it as soon as i figure out why my zip isn't actually installing. Either way you will need to have root.
    -D
     
  6. spoyld

    spoyld Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Been there, done that

    Mine just got replaced (and upgraded) for free to a Droid 2 because of that issue. Head back to Verizon and tell them you want it replaced as it is not a fixable issue.

    Let me know if I can be of more help.

    Good luck.

    Suzanne
     
  7. Dinomight

    Dinomight New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you had this replaced and you're running android 2.2 the problem will arise again. It isn't a problem with the proximity sensor but with a change in the code in android 2.2(froyo).... below is the code inside the phone application that is causing the problem.
    Code:
    1156      * @param state current state of the phone (see {@link Phone#State})
    1157      */
    1158     /* package */ void updateProximitySensorMode(Phone.State state) {
    1159         if (VDBG) Log.d(LOG_TAG, "updateProximitySensorMode: state = " + state);
    1160 
    1161         if (proximitySensorModeEnabled()) {
    1162             synchronized (mProximityWakeLock) {
    1163                 // turn proximity sensor off and turn screen on immediately if
    1164                 // we are using a headset, the keyboard is open, or the device
    1165                 // is being held in a horizontal position.
    1166                 boolean screenOnImmediately = (isHeadsetPlugged()
    1167                             || PhoneUtils.isSpeakerOn(this)
    1168                             || ((mBtHandsfree != null) && mBtHandsfree.isAudioOn())
    1169                             || mIsHardKeyboardOpen
    1170                             || mOrientation == AccelerometerListener.ORIENTATION_HORIZONTAL);
    1171
    if you look at lines 1162-1171 you will see that the screen is turned back on if you the phone goes horizontal. if you take out the following from the code
    Code:
    || mOrientation == AccelerometerListener.ORIENTATION_HORIZONTAL 
    (line 1171) and recompile the problem is fixed. (thanks to chevy for finding the code.) I will post an update.zip file for clockworkmod recovery that fixes the issue for you.
     
  8. vzwtek

    vzwtek Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    BAM!!!! lol, jk. Just use tedds droid tools.
     
  9. Dinomight

    Dinomight New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Fix Install via Clockworkmod/Rom Manager

    Ok,
    I know it's a long time coming but i was finally able to package an update zip compatible with rommanager/clockworkmod recovery. Just copy to your sdcard and install the zip. Please note that this will replace your phone.apk so if you are using some customized phone dialer it will be replaced by this fixed version. Thanks to Chevy for finding the broken code.
    -D
     

    Attached Files:

  10. jabberlope

    jabberlope New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  11. rocquoone

    rocquoone New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    How?

    Suzanne,

    Please tell me how you managed to make this happen. I'm on my 3rd droid and my husband the 2nd droid since March of this year. Verizon has refused to upgrade us, even though they keep sending us refurbs with issues.
     
Search tags for this page

android phone keeps muting

,
android phone mutes in middle of call
,
galaxy note 2 mutes itself
,
galaxy s3 mutes itself during calls
,
my phone mutes itself but not on mute
,

note 2 mutes itself

,
samsung galaxy s3 keeps muting itself
,

samsung galaxy s3 mutes itself

,

samsung galaxy s3 mutes itself during call

,

why does my phone mute itself