Phone lags and reboots itself after ICS install

Discussion in 'Droid Razr and Razr Maxx ICS discussion' started by thunder550, Jul 20, 2012.

  1. thunder550
    Offline

    thunder550 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Evergreen, CO
    Razr Maxx, brand new phone, just bought today. Came with GB out of the box. Immediately updated to ICS, did a hard reset, and it barely even boots up before it gets really laggy (5-10 seconds from screen tap to response), screen goes black and I cannot get it to turn back on with the button, and it eventually reboots itself. It did this about 5 times earlier then started working fine. That is, until I plugged and then unplugged the USB cord into my computer. Everything worked as normal when I plugged it in, but when I unplugged it, it started doing the same thing as earlier again. Any idea WTH is going on?
  2. 94lt1
    Offline

    94lt1 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11,480
    Likes Received:
    673
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    SE TX
    Do a factory data reset, and then immediately do another factory reset. It sucks.. but it will fix your issue.

    If you just got it today.. this is your best bet.

    DROID RAZR MAXXIMIZED!!!! PREPARE TO BE VANQUISHED!!!
  3. thunder550
    Offline

    thunder550 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Evergreen, CO
    Thanks, will do as soon as it decides to let me in for a few minutes again.
  4. 94lt1
    Offline

    94lt1 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11,480
    Likes Received:
    673
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    SE TX
  5. 94lt1
    Offline

    94lt1 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11,480
    Likes Received:
    673
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ohhh... press and hold volume down and power ... this is a simulated battery pull... then try ^^^

    Hold em for about 15 seconds.
    DROID RAZR MAXXIMIZED!!!! PREPARE TO BE VANQUISHED!!!
  6. thunder550
    Offline

    thunder550 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Evergreen, CO
    I must not be doing something right...it just boots me into safe mode when I try to follow that procedure.
  7. thunder550
    Offline

    thunder550 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Evergreen, CO
    I do like that it has built in screen shot capability though! Power + Down
  8. thunder550
    Offline

    thunder550 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Evergreen, CO
    It won't let me do factory reset right now because I'm below 25% on battery...could that be why recovery mode doesn't work too?
  9. 94lt1
    Offline

    94lt1 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11,480
    Likes Received:
    673
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    SE TX
    OK.. well when you get it on, just go through privacy and do two factory resets... back to back.

    DROID RAZR MAXXIMIZED!!!! PREPARE TO BE VANQUISHED!!!
  10. thunder550
    Offline

    thunder550 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Evergreen, CO
    Ok. Just did factory reset twice, figured out how to get into bootloader and did clear cache, then another factory reset. All was going well until I inserted my SD card (which I had in my computer copying music over while I was waiting for the phone to work). As soon as I put the SD card in, bam, phone locked up again.
  11. thunder550
    Offline

    thunder550 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Evergreen, CO
    After reset AGAIN looks like it might be working. Crossing fingers....
  12. 94lt1
    Offline

    94lt1 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11,480
    Likes Received:
    673
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    SE TX
    Hmmm. Wow. I've never heard of an SD card causing that. That doesn't mean it can't happen lol. Wow.

    DROID RAZR MAXXIMIZED!!!! PREPARE TO BE VANQUISHED!!!
  13. 94lt1
    Offline

    94lt1 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11,480
    Likes Received:
    673
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    SE TX
    If it keeps doing it.. since you know how to get into safe mode, boot I to safe mode and see if it stops..

    DROID RAZR MAXXIMIZED!!!! PREPARE TO BE VANQUISHED!!!
  14. thunder550
    Offline

    thunder550 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Evergreen, CO
    I think it's all fixed...been going strong for a WHOLE HOUR now, lol. Got most of my apps installed and working on setting up my home screens. Thanks for the help!
  15. TOMMYBOT
    Offline

    TOMMYBOT Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I think I'm too tired I just read this as iPhone blank blank blank after installing ics. Lol no way you can put ics on the iPhone that's impressive!

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk 2
Search tags for this page

android phone reboots itself

,
android phone reboots itself after a few minutes
,

android phone resets itself

,

droid razr maxx restarts itself

,
droid ultra resets itself
,
droid x lag then resets?
,
galaxy s4 rebooting itself#gsc.tab
,
my phone restarts by itself after ics update
,
phone rebooting and lagging
,
s4 restart itself