Phone Lag

Discussion in 'RAZR HD and RAZR HD MAXX Support' started by pctdavis, Jan 4, 2013.

  1. pctdavis
    Offline

    pctdavis Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ok, let me preface this by saying,I like this phone. Never for to experience it without jellybean.

    However, I spent a lot of money on this phone so I expect it to be better than my thunderbolt. I have the same apps running on my wife's RAZR M and that phone is crisp. This phone develops tremendous lag when going screen to screen. Its very choppy and not smooth and crisp at all. Is this strictly memory issue? Actually, once I'm in an app, its pretty nice, but the main UI is terrible!

    I'm 1/2 tempted to go get a DNA and would have if not for the battery life (my #1 spec requirement).

    Anyone else having lag problems?

    Red meat is not bad for you. Green fuzzy meat is bad for you!
  2. dmbatcofc
    Offline

    dmbatcofc New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't experience any lag on my HD when transitioning from home screen to home screen. The only time I experience lag is after the phone has been on for a few days without a reboot. So, I reboot, clear cache and I'm good to go. Just like a computer, a phone should be rebooted every couple of days to ensure the only processes running are necessary. I'd do a cache wipe, reboot, then try again. Also... have you disabled all of the software that you don't use (VZ Navigator, Color, MC3, some racing thing, etc)?
  3. pctdavis
    Offline

    pctdavis Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Yes, I have found a reboot makes it better, but I've never had to do that on other phones. I guess I expect more from this phone.

    I've tried to disable all apps (hope I did it right) and even played with developer mode. Every time I got to home screen there is a 2 second delay until the "circles widget" draws. Something that's supposed to be a feature of the phone should not cause issues.

    Red meat is not bad for you. Green fuzzy meat is bad for you!
  4. pctdavis
    Offline

    pctdavis Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    For example, I was able to get a screenshot. I exited an app and then 2 second later. View attachment 59740 uploadfromtaptalk1357313520217.jpg

    Red meat is not bad for you. Green fuzzy meat is bad for you!
  5. pksopp
    Offline

    pksopp Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2012
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8

    Not sure what this means. You got it with Jelly Bean or you haven't upgraded or what?

    General consensus here is an FDR is essential for smooth operation, either before or after the upgrade to 4.1. I would start there - the device should be near flawless when it's back to stock. If that proves true, you've likely got an app or 2 or 20 that are resource hogs.
    1 person likes this.
  6. pctdavis
    Offline

    pctdavis Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    When I bought the phone, it upgraded immediately to Jellybean. Did a factory reset the day after I bought it with Jellybean installed. I don't know how it operated pre-jellybean. That's what I meant to say.

    Red meat is not bad for you. Green fuzzy meat is bad for you!
  7. pksopp
    Offline

    pksopp Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2012
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    So has it been this way from day 1, before you installed anything? If so, get a replacement from Verizon.
  8. swharshbar
    Offline

    swharshbar Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    State College, Pa
    Yeah, agreed. Somethings wrong with the phone. Mine works flawless.
  9. pctdavis
    Offline

    pctdavis Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Well, the frustrating part is that this problem does not happen all the time. Today after 3 hours of this nonsense, it suddenly stopped doing it (screen shord above were 15 minutes after a reboot). It must be a rogue app.

    Is it possible something with 3G/4G switching in the background could cause an issue? I'm on wireless but since I have 3G shown (was on fringe of 4G earlier), the problem went away.

    Red meat is not bad for you. Green fuzzy meat is bad for you!
  10. pksopp
    Offline

    pksopp Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2012
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    If it's constantly trying to find a signal, maybe. A good test would be to flip it into airplane mode if the issue pops up again, see what happens.
    Not sure when you got the RMHD, but some have said on here that things like fluidity and batt life improve naturally after a few days.
  11. pctdavis
    Offline

    pctdavis Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Well,I guess all I have to do is complain about it. 3 hours of aggravation today and out of the blue it's working great. Stupid phone....haha.

    Thanks for your responses.

    Red meat is not bad for you. Green fuzzy meat is bad for you!
  12. lkevinl
    Offline

    lkevinl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, my phone is lagging too. VERY disappointed. Got it on 12/28. Activated phone, apps began restoring. Rooted the phone, ran root saver, then OTA'd to JB and restored root. The problem with factory reset is that you guarantee that your phone will seem good for a while but it will inevitably bog down again when your apps restore. I want to avoid the hassle of a FDR only for the issue to come back again. The phone shouldn't lag before or after an OTA and I shouldn't have to reboot it nightly even though that is easy enough to do.

    I just came from my Droid Bionic on ICS and that thing was running great, but I had to use the extended battery and set up AutomateIt to reboot each night. This new phone should blow that one away. I'm experiencing:

    1. Home Screen slow redraw, sluggishness
    2. The home screen management screen is always slow to load and fade away
    3. Keyboard is laggy in apps. No way this should happen.

    If my only recourse is to FDR now and wipe cache, I'll do it, but I don't expect great results. Anyone else who can confirm a difference after running for at least a week before and a week after doing the FDR and wipe?
  13. pctdavis
    Offline

    pctdavis Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I did notice a difference after doing a factory reset. However, like this morning, the problem comes and goes. It was terrible this morning but has been great all day since. I didn't change my usage much. Same apps, same button presses.

    Red meat is not bad for you. Green fuzzy meat is bad for you!
  14. pappy53
    Offline

    pappy53 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    North Carolina
    How do I clear cache?
  15. GoCliffGo05
    Online

    GoCliffGo05 Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,808
    Likes Received:
    306
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Maryland
    Turn the phone off. Hold volume up + volume down + power until you see a black screen with a white menu. Be quick about it and use volume down to scroll to recovery. Press volume up to select it. At the dead android screen hold volume down and press volume up once to enter recovery. (This is for jelly bean, for ICS you just press volume up + volume down together once.) In this screen navigate with volume keys and select with power. Wipe cache partition then reboot.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2
  16. Hodor
    Offline

    Hodor New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Google and Amazon are the main culprits here. They have loaded Jellybean with so much bloat its ridiculous.

    But all is not lost. Remove (or freeze) any Google or Amazon app that you 100% do not ABSOLUTELY need! And this includes Google now. These two companies combined were sucking up over 60 meg of memory to just stay resident and do nothing (except maybe spy some more on us)

    Go to apps and look under "running". If you do not have at least 200 meg or more free at any given time you are going to experience random lag. While you are there, look to see how much memory your other running apps are using. If it's high and you don't need it, get rid of it.

    This will help your phone immensely. Unfortunately, if you download a lot of apps you will need to check this frequently. Android is supposed to idle /unload stuff it doesn't need, but unfortunately for us, some programmers aren't following the rules.
  17. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,060
    Likes Received:
    128
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    The carriers put the bloat on. Also I would not suggest just randomly freezing services. Doing so can cause more problems. If you don't know what your freezing it may affect other things. I froze a VZW app and my google calendar stopped working.
    The bloat is not the cause of the lag...that's just hype. You don't need in excess of 200mb free to be lag free. YMMV, but generally lag is caused by runaway apps or cache overloads.

    Sent from Democles Base.
  18. Hodor
    Offline

    Hodor New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Sorry, but I still stand by what I say. I didn't say to freeze services, just keep an eye on apps you download and monitor how much memory they use and how long they stay loaded. 10meg here 20meg there all add up fast when you have a phone that only has 1gig.
  19. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,060
    Likes Received:
    128
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    I don't even have a gig....512megs on the D3 and no lag to speak of. That's all i'm sayin.

    Sent from Democles Base.
    1 person likes this.
  20. GoCliffGo05
    Online

    GoCliffGo05 Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,808
    Likes Received:
    306
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Maryland
    Yea available ram shouldn't have anything to do with lag.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2
Search tags for this page
android phone lagging
,
droid 3 phone delay
,
droid 4 bogs down why
,
droid maxx hd lag
,

droid razr fade slow

,
droid razr maxx jellybean phone lag
,
htc ics incredible call lag
,
motorola razr hd screen fades in and out slowly
,
phone call lag delay
,
phone lag problem
,
phone lagging motorola
,
razor maxx slow fade
,
razr hd max home screen lag
,
razr maxx hd has lag
,

razr maxx hd lag