Phone lag if you go to long between reboots

Discussion in 'Droid Razr and Razr Maxx ICS discussion' started by LoneWolfArcher, Jul 26, 2012.

  1. LoneWolfArcher

    LoneWolfArcher Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,232
    Likes Received:
    150
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +157
    With GB I hardly ever rebooted. Sometimes going months between reboots. I can't do that with ICS. If I go much more than a week the phone lag gets horrendous until I do a reboot.

    Anyone else seeing this?
     
  2. Xfactorx316

    Xfactorx316 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Kentucky
    Ratings:
    +22
    When I was on .211 I noticed this. I did an FDR and upgraded to the leaked .215 and haven't had any issues since!
     
  3. jaybogg

    jaybogg Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    Ratings:
    +18
    Does a reboot wipe data caches? I don't use my data much at all(although have unlimited), never reboot, and I haven't seen much lag other than .215 being a bit "snappier" as they say here. Last reboot I did was to install .215. Just thought it might be data caches if you are a heavy user of data.
     
  4. MattyP

    MattyP Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2,264
    Likes Received:
    196
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Location:
    In a race car...
    Ratings:
    +196
    Just like a regular computer, these phones get "tired" ... especially after moderate to heavy usage. Rebooting every once in a while is a good thing. :)
     
    • Like Like x 2
  5. Sydman

    Sydman Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,571
    Likes Received:
    311
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Ratings:
    +325
    A reboot will not wipe cache completely no, you will have to boot into recovery and do it from there to make sure everything is clear. I do it once a week, along with a hard reset.
     
  6. B0B0

    B0B0 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    I travel
    Ratings:
    +5
    I've noticed this too. Seems with heavy usage about 2 weeks is as long as I can go before it starts to get realllly choppy on me and act funny.

    Supposedly Android OS solved this issue (iOS has a similar issue) but apparently they did not solve it.
     
Search tags for this page

android lag after long use