1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Phone getting VERY hot

Discussion in 'Rescue Squad Help' started by Dj Carpenter, Nov 17, 2010.

  1. Dj Carpenter
    Offline

    Dj Carpenter New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2,446
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    My phone is getting ridiculously hot with little use. My failsafe for CPU which was 114F and it's going off pretty frequently. I've tried different ROMs, kernels, voltages, everything I can think of. Is there anything I'm missing? I've tried ChevyNo1, Slayher, and P3Droid kernels, are there any I'm missing that could maybe help solve this issue? I never had these problems on the Droid I had before my replacement so I'm not sure how to go about this
  2. Sniper_5
    Offline

    Sniper_5 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    485
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Manheim, PA
    Overclocked I assume? what settings were you using on set CPU?

    Sent from my D1 on UD1.0 @ 1Ghz
  3. Dj Carpenter
    Offline

    Dj Carpenter New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2,446
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Yes. Well right now it's overclocked to 1000, 250 minimum on demand. I've even had it set as low as 550 and I'm still having the same problems
  4. Sniper_5
    Offline

    Sniper_5 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    485
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Manheim, PA
    Check what's using your battery, it may point out an app running in the background constantly. I had this issue not too long ago but it cleared up on its own. I had an app that wouldn't " sleep" and was forcing the CPU to run constantly. Also check what apps are currently running and how much CPU they're using. I'd also check the stats in set CPU to see what frequency your running at the most. If its 900+ the previously mentioned may be your issue.

    Sent from my D1 on UD1.0 @ 1Ghz
  5. Dj Carpenter
    Offline

    Dj Carpenter New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2,446
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    The only things taking up battery are the display which was something high, android system at 7% and the only other thing above 1% was legends but thats because I was just playing it. My failsafe was kicking in after boot yesterday so Idk

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  6. Quicksilver7714
    Offline

    Quicksilver7714 Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,384
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    48
    I had a similar issue to this a while ago where my clock speed would randomly jump between 900-1000 mhz, and stay there even when set for a max clock of 550mhz, for some reason. I can't remember how I fixed it though. Either it went away on its own or I loaded my most recent backup. Its most likely an app that can't sleep as Semperfidles pointed out. If it continues you should try a restoring to your most recent backup if nothing else works.

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
  7. Dj Carpenter
    Offline

    Dj Carpenter New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2,446
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Mine did something like that as well actually. It would be higher that what my max for it was. I would also set my max for, let's say, 1000, and it would show my max was only 700 on the widget or if I opened SetCPU it would show it at 1000, but the text above would say 700 also. Don't know why it was doing that. I'll see if I can figure out what it is. Maybe it is pocket legends. It showed a high percentage but I was also playing it but it might be using up quite a bit on it's own
  8. Dj Carpenter
    Offline

    Dj Carpenter New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2,446
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Also, I think it may have worked itself out. It's staying at a realistic temperature right now. It's only gotten hot when I play a game for a long period of time such as the one listed above. But it was hitting 120's yesterday and some today
  9. Sniper_5
    Offline

    Sniper_5 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    485
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Manheim, PA
    I assume you have set CPU to Start at boot?

    Sent from my D1 on UD1.0 @ 1Ghz
  10. Dj Carpenter
    Offline

    Dj Carpenter New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2,446
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Yes, its set on boot

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
Search tags for this page

android phone cpu is getting very hot

,

phone cpu very hot.

,

why does my phone get ridiculously hot?