Phone Extensions - Prompt to Dial Ext ??

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by FearLES, Jan 17, 2010.

  1. FearLES

    FearLES New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Aurora, OH
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for everyone's help on the Forum... what a great site!!

    So - I have synchronized my Outlook Contacts with my Verizon / Motorola DROID. Currently - many of my phone numbers look like this:

    (330) 123-4567 ,9999

    Where 9999 is the person's phone Extension.

    When I click on the contact to dial their phone number... the Droid will dial:

    011133012345679999

    ... and then I get an annoying message saying the number I dialed is incorrect.

    So then I went into Outlook Contacts - and changed the phone number to the "proper format"...

    +1 (330) 123-4567 x 9999

    ... and that didn't seem to help either.

    Is there a setting or application that will Dial the main number - and then wait & PROMPT for the extension??
     
  2. KZIWarrior

    KZIWarrior Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,609
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Ratings:
    +2
    Add a semi-colon ";". I found this while dialing a number and it works but for some reason it's not an option when your entering a number in Contacts.
     
  3. himercado

    himercado New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have tried the semi-colon and it works; however, on my previous black berry I was able to put pauses in the phone number so that it would automatically dial the extension after the call was picked up. This is very handy when you are driving. Does any one know how to put in this pauses into the droid x contact in order for it to do the same?
     
  4. Silver Phantom

    Silver Phantom New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes - you just put commas in - more commas for more time. I think a comma equals one second, but haven't timed it to be sure.
     
  5. Josh S

    Josh S New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Droid phone extension problem

    The best work around I've found is to change the "x" in an extension ie x221 in your Outlook database to "w" ie w221. This is a pain but it works. The "w" ends up a wait so the phone will dial the ten digit number and then put the extension on your screen asking if you would like to enter it.

    The Droid folks should have the software IN THEIR PHONES interpret an "x" for extension as a "w" then people wouldn't have to modify any of their Outlook contact data. Hopefully if I change my database to use the "w" when this is fixed the phones will except both "x" and "w" (or other standard extension codes).

    Josh
     
  6. STReesEsq

    STReesEsq New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Phone Extensions

    Josh's suggestion worked for me. In addition, if you add a "p" before the extension, it should automatically dial the extension after the call is answered. I think a "pp" will delay the entry of the extension even longer.

    Sam
     
Search tags for this page
android phone extension
,
dialing extensions
,

droid phone extensions

,
how do i enter an extension when dialing a phone number
,
how do you dial an extension without a prompt
,
how to dial an extension android
,
how to dial an extension on android
,
how to dial extension on android
,
how to enter extension in android
,
how to enter phone extensions in outlook