Phone can't unlock..

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR MAXX' started by nicadizzle, May 16, 2012.

  1. nicadizzle
    Offline

    nicadizzle New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Colorado
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was changing my wallpaper on my Razr Maxx, it didn't work.. It ended up being black instead of the wallpaper I'd chosen. Went back, tried setting the wallpaper again. Than my phone just shut off. The green notification light kept blinking every 4 to 5 seconds but the phone wouldn't turn on. Whenever I'd plug it in to my laptop or to the wall it just showed the droid eye. Than I did the hard boot on it, that ended up getting me to the lock screen.. but whenever it gets there I can't even unlock my phone! It's like the touch screen doesn't even work! I'm getting all my notifications right now, green light is blinking. Notification sounds are coming on. But the power button does absolutely nothing right now! The screen looks like it's locked right now. I tried a couple more hard resets, same thing happens every time. I've had a few issues already with this phone.

    4G showing when I'm not in a 4G area. (I live in a non 4G area)
    Screen not locking until I push the power button a second time.
    Facebook pictures not loading, (could be the app but I did reinstall it)
    It's slower than when I first got it. When I first got it youtube videos loaded in like 5 seconds.. Now they load in like 15 to 20ish.
    Also whenever I try to get to the camera from the lockscreen, it always takes forever! I'll have to swipe to the camera again.. than it lags, and finally takes me to the camera.

    I'm going to go to Verizon if all else fails.. thing that sucks though is I bought this phone through AmazonWireless. So I don't know if Verizon is going to help me or not.
    Anybody have these issues? Any advice for how to get my phone to work, and than once it works, how to fix the other issues I have with this phone?
     
  2. SallyC
    Offline

    SallyC Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,217
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +61
    Sorry for all the trouble you're having. It sounds like the power button did work, but now doesn't? If you can get it to work, first I would try booting it in Safe Mode (link here) and see if that will get you past the lock screen. If not, then try a factory data reset (link here).

    If you've had it plugged in to an outlet (not your PC) for a few hours, using your Motorola cable and charger, and you still can't get the power button to work or the screen to unlock, I think you're going to have to call Verizon.
     
  3. nicadizzle
    Offline

    nicadizzle New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Colorado
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can't even get my phone to unlock. I can take calls and slide to answer which is strange.. but here's what happens. I did that hard reset.. after it goes through the whole power up it takes me to the lock screen. Once I get there I can't do anything. It's like the touch screen doesn't work. I can't open the camera, or put the phone in vibrate, or unlock it. It ends up locking after awhile (like any phone) but than I can't hit the power button to show that lock screen. I tried doing Safe Mode, but all it did was when it finally got to the lock screen, all it showed was a black screen and Safe Mode on the bottom left. It didn't even show the time. I can't do a factory data reset because I can't unlock my phone to go into the menu. I charged it all night, and this happened soon after unplugging it. So the phone isn't dead.


    Yeah it's like the power button doesn't work. But after I boot up the phone I can lock it.. just not unlock it.
     
  4. oyeyemi808
    Offline

    oyeyemi808 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    take it to Verizon NOW! my 1st maxx did the exact same thing plus started getting really hot. don't know how or why. Verizon said they had "never " seen this issue.got replacement, never happened again. good luck.
     
  5. SallyC
    Offline

    SallyC Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,217
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +61
    Can you do the following:
    1. Power up the phone by pressing the VOL UP + VOL DOWN KEY together + PWR KEY .
    2. The device will enumerate with different BOOT OPTIONS
    3. Use the VOL DOWN Key to SCROLL and VOL UP Key to SELECT
    4. Select Recovery
    5. The device will start up with Motorola logo and power up to a little Android man logo with Exclamation mark
    6. Press the VOL UP and VOL DOWN Key together at this screen
    7. The device will display BLUE Text on a Black background .
    8. Use the VOL DOWN Key to scroll DOWN and the PWR Key to SELECT the option desired .
    9. In this case , press the VOL DOWN key till the Wipe data / factory reset is selected and press the PWR key to confirm the selection .
    10. Use the VOL DOWN key again to select YES - delete all user data and press the PWR key to CONFIRM .
    11. The device will then start performing the Factory Data Reset
    12. Once the Formatting is complete , press the PWR key to confirm a REBOOT
    13. The message rebooting is displayed on the phone.
    14. The device will reboot and start the normal power up sequence .

    If not, then I think you have no choice but to call/visit Verizon.
     
  6. nicadizzle
    Offline

    nicadizzle New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Colorado
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok thanks. I'm going to try that once my phone is charged.. somehow it drained to 0% by doing absolutely nothing today. I'll let you know the results. If that doesn't work, do you guys know if I'll be able to get a replacement phone from Verizon even though I bought the phone through Amazon Wireless? Or will I have to call in and figure it out with Amazon?
     
  7. nicadizzle
    Offline

    nicadizzle New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Colorado
    Ratings:
    +0
    Man.. I just did everything you said for that factory reset. It went to the sign into your google account after that whole thing. After that I was trying to back my phone up from my google account. Left it alone since it looked like it was going to take awhile. Than my phone shut off! Now it's back to where I was.. :( Thanks anyways. I never knew you could do that with this phone.
     
  8. FoxKat
    Offline

    FoxKat Resident Novelist...LOL! Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    10,041
    Likes Received:
    1,587
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +1,646
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo, and Nexus 6!
    Looks like it's an app you have installed and when you did the factory restore, in the process of re-authorizing Google, the apps auto-loaded again and started the problem. During the initial setup, there are couple check boxes and one says you want Google to backup and restore your apps and settings automatically. You should uncheck that box and let it continue. It will finalize the setup but won't download your apps, and I am relatively confident the problem won't return this time. The unfortunate problem is that you will have to do the reset again now to get there and restore without the apps auto-loading. The good part is you shouldn't have to do it again.

    Good luck! :biggrin:
     
  9. groelzj
    Offline

    groelzj New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try installing an app called Watchdog Lite. I think you'll find that there is a system process that hogs cpu and drains the battery. The process is called "suspend" and it's a known android bug that Motorola hasn't addressed yet. If you google "Razr suspend bug" you'll find plenty on the subject. Nobody seems to have been able to trace it to any particular app, but rather it seems to be in the OS itself at this point. Sometimes a factory reset will fix it, sometimes not. Those of us affected by it are waiting on pins and needles for the ICS OTA update. It's either that or turn it in to Verizon and get a new phone! (not sure if you'd get brand new, or refurbished though...)

    Jon
     
Search tags for this page
cant get motorola razor to slide over
,
cant remember my passcode my motorola razr
,

cant unlock droid x

,
cant unlock my droid razr
,

droid razr maxx wont unlock

,
hoe to reset a ohone that wont unlock
,
how do i unlock my droid maxx
,
i have a droid it will not unlock on screen
,
my droid razr maxx wont unlock
,
my phone wont unlock