Permanently changing PATH in terminal/new bash profile?

jed607

Reaction score
I am a bit of a newcomer to adb, theming and the like, but have been getting into it quite fervently as of late. I can theme and successfully use adb for what I want it to do on a PC (for the most part), but am having some issues with my mac, which is the computer I have the most access to. I was following a tutorial online about creating a new .bash_profile using the pico command (I believe) and set the path incorrectly. Now every time I open terminal I get the error message that the directory doesn't exist, and I have to re-enter PATH=${PATH}:/folder/pathname/tools/ to get adb to work. I was wondering if anyone knew how to delete/edit a bash profile to PERMANENTLY change the PATH so I don't have to add it each time? That would be amazing! Thanks in advance!!

Also, let me reiterate that I am new to theming/adb/terminal. Most of the guides online say to edit some hidden folder or directory but they don't give specific directions. Please be as specific as you can for my benefit, it will be greatly appreciated :D

Last edited:
OP
J

jed607

Reaction score
Well right now I'm using ultimate droid new era, but I use bugless beast v1 as well, I change roms quite frequently actually. But I just want to know how to change the path on my mac

Se7enLC

Reaction score
I was following a tutorial online about creating a new .bash_profile using the pico command (I believe) and set the path incorrectly. Now every time I open terminal I get the error message that the directory doesn't exist, and I have to re-enter PATH=${PATH}:/folder/pathname/tools/ to get adb to work. I was wondering if anyone knew how to delete/edit a bash profile to PERMANENTLY change the PATH so I don't have to add it each time? That would be amazing! Thanks in advance!!

pico is just a text editor, so you can use whatever text editor you are comfortable with to make the change.