Performance w/LauncherPro

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2' started by yopete525, Aug 21, 2010.

  1. yopete525

    yopete525 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    How does the Droid 2 run with LauncherPro? I'm mostly concerned with the performance (smoothness/speed), because the functionality I'm assuming would be the same. I've seen videos of the Droid X running LauncherPro and the UI seems much more responsive than the default blur-esque skin that the phone comes with, but I can't find anything on the 2. For whatever reason it seems to me the Droid 2's performance with the default skin is even more sluggish, to the point of frustration -- whether that is due to bloatware or the skin itself is a mystery to me. But does anyone have any feedback on how the Droid 2 runs with LPro?
     
  2. Jeebz88

    Jeebz88 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mine definitely seems to run much more smoothly with launcher pro.
     
  3. shmoo

    shmoo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Why don't you go get it from the market and just try it out? if you like it keep it, if you don't install it...simple as pie.
     
  4. HuJass

    HuJass New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    CNY
    Ratings:
    +0
    I installed LauncherPro on my D2 and it made my phone run all goofy.
    I uninstalled it.
     
  5. idiotekniQues

    idiotekniQues Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    works very well here. fast, snappy and great customization features.
     
  6. timrock

    timrock Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    i installed it, but dont see it in my apps.
     
  7. shmoo

    shmoo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's not an app. Hit your home key.
     
  8. timrock

    timrock Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    :icon_eek::icon_ banana:
    thanks
     
  9. shmoo

    shmoo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Lol anytime!
     
  10. Jmart922

    Jmart922 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes after DL launcher pro, you must hit the home button, choose launcher pro, and start adding widgets and icons to the number of screens you have available, you can cuztomize launcher pro further by clicking on menu button on the home screen aand choosing preferences, this is all launcher pros extensive options
     
  11. yopete525

    yopete525 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh I forgot to explain why I'm asking, I'd been deliberating over whether to buy the Incredible, X, or 2, and actually settled on the Incredible and ordered it yesterday. It came down to the performance and software of the phone, because the X and 2 were significantly less responsive in comparison. However that was before I learned about LPro (I'm new to Android/Smartphones, upgrading from a Voyager). Hardware-wise, the Droid 2 is my favorite (soft buttons, high-density 16:9 screen sized well for one-hand use), but I couldn't get over the software.

    Would those of you with LPro on their Droid 2's compare its performance to the Incredible's, or the Droid X running it?
     
  12. SangYuP

    SangYuP New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Maybe my settings are wrong but the performance is worse when using launcherpro and it has some bugs that are annoying.
     
  13. searayman

    searayman Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    947
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would also recommend home switcher app just in case you need to go back to the original for what ever reason. But yea launcher pr is boss
     
  14. yopete525

    yopete525 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    @SangYuP that's what I'm not understanding, performance seems inconsistent between users. You don't seem to be the only one who's experienced worse performance/bug issues with the Droid 2 + LPro. I don't know if that's a risk I'd want to take.
     
  15. SangYuP

    SangYuP New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well not to dissuade you or anything from the D2 but I have uninstalled LPP (launcherproplus) for now. I'll wait for more updates and hopefully they will be performance improvements and bug fixes. I don't care for the widgets that the developer is working on. I just want it faster and less buggy.
     
Similar Threads
  1. Shadez
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    911
  2. loonie01
    Replies:
    119
    Views:
    16,390
  3. 007
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    918
  4. lerit50
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    752
  5. Force1stiptopped
    Replies:
    10
    Views:
    3,489
Loading...