People App Disabled

Discussion in 'HTC Rezound' started by dsowder, Jun 11, 2013.

  1. dsowder

    dsowder New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have searched and searched and have not been able to find my problem. I had downloaded a contact and phone app awhile back and when I removed it my people and phone functions are no longer there. I have no way of calling a number, only answering them. I can see that the people app is disabled, but it is greyed out so I am unable to re-enable. The people/phone/caller apps are not in my app drawer. Only when I look at all apps on my phone in the App Manager is it listed there. Someone please help!
     
  2. acejavelin

    acejavelin Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2012
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    North Dakota, USA
    Ratings:
    +10
    Hmm... not good. That specific app (there should be two People apps in your list total) is not normally capable of being disabled. Unfortunately I think what you are going to have to do is Factory Default the phone.
     
  3. zomnomnombie

    zomnomnombie Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +36
    I would try reinstalling the app in question and see if that changes any of your possible actions.
     
  4. dsowder

    dsowder New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    @acejavelin yeah I had noticed the other People app and it looks to be just fine, just the other one is disabled :/

    @zomnomnombie I reinstalled the app (Contacts+) and I am still unable to re-enable
     
  5. MrSmith317

    MrSmith317 Moderator
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,578
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    Ratings:
    +31
    Are you rooted? If so, connect your phone to the PC, run "ADB Shell PM list packages -d" . That will list all the disabled packages on your phone. People should be listed as com.htc.people ( I believe ). So then you'd run "ADB Shell PM enable com.htc.people" and viola People is back.

    This is of course only a solution if the app is truly disabled and not missing/broken. In any case, rooting might be the only way this gets fixed and the process of rooting causes a factory reset which is probably what you wanted to avoid in the first place...
     
    #5 MrSmith317, Jun 11, 2013
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2013
  6. dsowder

    dsowder New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am not rooted but have been wanting to; but have been a bit intimidated honestly. I might end up looking through these forums and see if I can find some simple directions.
     
  7. dsowder

    dsowder New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    @MrSmith317 Ahhhh just noticed you put that on your reply! THANK YOU!
     
  8. acejavelin

    acejavelin Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2012
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    North Dakota, USA
    Ratings:
    +10
    Remember, if you root now, you will factory default your phone. The procedure to root the Rezound will cause the phone to default when the bootloader is unlocked!!!

    MrSmith's recommendation to re-enable the People app above will only work if you are already rooted.
     
  9. dsowder

    dsowder New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    @acejavelin I had done a factory reset not too long ago because of my phone running sluggish so it wouldn't be TOO drastic for me to root at this point. I would really like to have Jelly Bean and Google Now features. There is still a very strong possibility that I will be too scared of the process and just stick with what I got lol
     
  10. acejavelin

    acejavelin Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2012
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    North Dakota, USA
    Ratings:
    +10
    The I would just do the factory default, at least then you will know if the software is still on the phone or not. Best result, you fix the problem and have a clean phone to start over with, worst result, the file is missing/corrupted and you need to root/rom or RUU anyway.

    The only other possibility I can think of is find a different third-party Dialer/Contact Management software you like, it will get you by and possibly at least let you backup your contacts.
     
  11. MrSmith317

    MrSmith317 Moderator
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,578
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    Ratings:
    +31
    I'd try Go contacts...seemed fairly stable when I used it
     
  12. MrSmith317

    MrSmith317 Moderator
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,578
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    Ratings:
    +31
    Take a look at the guide in my sig. I tried to write it at "nicely" as I knew how.
     
Search tags for this page
android re enable people app
,
how do i re enable the people app on htc
,

how to enable the peoples application

,
how to re-enable people application in android
,
how to re-enable people application in mobile
,
htc people app disabled
,
i disabled people by accident on my htc phone
,
people apps re enable
,

re enable people application

,

re enable the people application download