PE V5 ADW redraw slowdown (& other misc)

Discussion in 'Project Elite' started by gertman, Feb 25, 2011.

  1. gertman

    gertman Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I upgraded from V4.2 and I did a full wipe and restore per GirlLuvsDroid special.

    Now here are all the issues I have experienced:

    1. The biggest problem I have is that my ADW setting appear to be the same as when I was running EliteV4.2 but now I am getting delay refresh / redraw when I go into an app and then go back to the home screen. (I hope everyone knows what I am talking about.....the fix was always to "force the home screen in memory" and stop and stop rotating it. Now that I think about it, wasn't there a separate settings in the Elite settings that is supposed to keep the home screen in memory? Well, I can't find it in version 5. Can anyone please help with this?

    2. My blue tooth settings would not restore (I know no big deal but I have never had trouble before using GirlLuvsDroid's instructions)

    3. The Weather Channel App will not work :( Now, I did have some trouble since they updated to the new version of the app when I was using elite4.2 Now I can not get my widget to update anything but the city I am in and the actual app just keeps closing on me. Also I can NOT get the current temp of my home location pinned in the status bar.

    Thank you in advance for all your help and a great ROM!!
     
  2. skruid

    skruid Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Weather app hasn't worked for me on any Tom for about two weeks now, its the app not the rom

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  3. skruid

    skruid Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I use launcher pro and have no redraw or lag issues with it at all, I have home locked memory, and never have any issues

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  4. Mistar Muffin

    Mistar Muffin New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the same problem. I have LP with 3 homescreens which are empty save for 3 icons on the main one. I can open settings->applications and view my list of installed applications, but when I hit home, the launcher has to redraw. I can reproduce it like clockwork. Opening Market, Gmail, and the browser all cause the launcher to be killed from memory and have to reload. I had this problem like crazy with CM6 and P.E. 4.2 was the best rom I ever used as far as the lack of redraws. I tried BuglessBeast, Sapphire, you name it, but P.E. was best. Now I get constant redraws on a fresh install of P.E. 5. I have tried troubleshooting. I removed apps that use background services like weatherbug and tasker to try and free up RAM. No luck yet.
     
  5. parker34

    parker34 Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Al
    Ratings:
    +0
    do you have it set to lock LP in memory? You are probably going to get more redraw with any GB rom due to it taking more memory to run than Froyo...or at least that's how I take it
     
  6. gertman

    gertman Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does elite v5 have an option to lock the home launcher in memory? If so, does anybody know where in settings it is? I know adw has an option to do this and I already have it set.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  7. diggy488

    diggy488 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    I'm using ADW EX and do not have any issues with redraw. Very fast and stable when exiting an app and going back to home screen. My settings were carried over from 4.2 and I didn't have to configure anything. Maybe try resetting ADW to defaults and start over?
     
  8. tyrion

    tyrion New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am having the same issues. Will the fix used in froyo through terminal emmulator work?

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  9. Chizzele

    Chizzele Team Sourcery Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,997
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    San Diego CA
    Ratings:
    +17
    ADW can be looked in the memory to help with the redraw issue. It the option that is marked is risky.

    The easiest way to avoid all these issues is simply to go back to a Froyo based Rom. I dont understand the need to have a 2.3.x rom that is buggy, its pointless.

    2.4 would work better once it out, till then, i am on 2.2.2
     
  10. niand

    niand New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Levant, Maine
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was having the same issue with ADW EX and it was also sluggish and laggy. I tried launcher pro and it worked ok but I don't like it as well so I just flashed back to 4.2, Gingerbread is so overrated. I tried the terminal emulator method too but it didn't work.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  11. gerend

    gerend Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    People's Republic of California
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, that is due to this horrid update they rolled out a few weeks ago. On their market page, they even admit that there are gingerbread issues for them to fix. I would recommend rolling back to an older version of TWC if you have it, or just dump it like apparently 1000's of others have done and start getting used to something else, like WeatherBug. I know, not the best solution but this is definitely NOT a PE thing.
     
  12. dfuser312553

    dfuser312553 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,078
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    It is already enabled in PEv5.
     
  13. jim1974

    jim1974 Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Harrisburg PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Good for you, but maybe others want to be on a GB ROM because they can.


    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  14. Phatdaddyz01

    Phatdaddyz01 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    How to fix redraws: VM heapsize @ 60 + Compcache @ 26% + Minfree manager (free in the Market) set to Aggressive = ZERO redraws & blazing fast phone!
     
  15. devator22

    devator22 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Mid-West United States
    Ratings:
    +0
    There was a redraw fix posted in the ChevyNo1 forum a while back, and I have been using it ever since with great results. Use Root Explorer to take the adw.apk from data/app and put it in system/app. Reboot, then delete launcherpro.apk from system/app. The reason I say reboot is that if you do this, and delete the working launcher without knowing for sure if ADW will still work, then you might end up soft-bricking your phone, as in there will be no launcher, so you can't do anything without going back to a backup.

    Doing it this way, you don't have to lock it in memory, you don't have to change any settings, it just works. I haven't had a redraw in a long, long time.