pdanet tethering and world of warcraft is a no go

Discussion in 'Android Custom & Themes' started by Squidpoker, Dec 26, 2009.

  1. -JD-

    -JD- New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    you can try to install azilink.. and run openvpn on your computer.. works without root and it's free :)
     
  2. mrbear5503

    mrbear5503 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    well i have a question.... is there anyway that you can get billed for using this app and playing WoW or like Counter-Strike, or using like netflicks and downloading movies?
     
  3. bL33d

    bL33d Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    819
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    illinois
    Ratings:
    +0
    Things that are obvious like downloading large movie files will most likely make it easier for them to spot you as suspicious.
     
  4. mrbear5503

    mrbear5503 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    right.... but would i get billed for playing WoW or other games??
     
    #16 mrbear5503, Jan 13, 2010
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2010
  5. SwordOfWar

    SwordOfWar Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    We can't answer that for you, as we don't work for Verizon or know exactly what they monitor.

    But considering the aspects of everything, bandwidth is the number one risk for getting caught.

    Just so everyone knows, playing online games do not usually use much data at all. Downloading the updates or patches or expansions can, however, be large at times. But just playing the game would probably be fine.

    With that said, latency/ping/ is pretty high compared to a home network. So don't be surprised if you get shot before you even see the guy come around the corner, or get ganked by a bunch of monsters before you can cast fire blast.

    Keep an eye on your monthly usage. Most users here don't get anywhere near 5GB a month using our phones. The most I saw was one guy said he had 4.8 or so GB of data.

    Now consider a single movie is usually at least a few hundred MBs. So you can rack up 1GB or more by only watching maybe 2 movies. So if you were Verizon and you saw an account go from using 1-3GB a month to using 10+ GB a month, what would you think?

    I hope this answers the question of "will this or that get me billed". The answer is more simple than you think. Does whatever you want to do use a lot of data? If it does, then the chances are much higher than something that does not.

    Just use some common sense and you will be fine.

    If you don't know howm uch data something uses, maybe you should search for some free computer software to monitor your data/bandwidth to give you an idea, and stop if its too much data.
     
  6. mattman011

    mattman011 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    can u play wow

    Wait by the sounds of all this it sounds like u can play wow on the droid I was told u couldn't if u can please tell me how that works
     
  7. FRATBoy

    FRATBoy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    You cannot play WoW on the droid per se. What this thread is talking about is using the droid to provide an internet connection to a PC and playing WoW on the PC.

    Also, punctuation is for winners.
     
  8. mattman011

    mattman011 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    O that sucks cause I'm a big horde wow player but thanks and I hate how the iphone could play wow and the droid cant
     
  9. Pjohn91

    Pjohn91 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Washington state
    Ratings:
    +9
    Current Phone Model:
    Note 4
    Go I phone................uhhhhh wait.........no wait!!! Go Droid!!!

    lol
     
  10. FRATBoy

    FRATBoy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Again...you cannot play WoW on a mobile device, per se.

    World of Warcraft Runs on iPhone... Mostly - Apple - Gizmodo

    It is running a streamed connection from a PC that is running WoW...

    "It's done using Vollee, which is used to stream games over 3G, so the video is actually just a stream and the rendering is done on the PC."

    There is also talk of running the Armory and the Auction Houses via an iphone app - World of Warcraft auctions coming to iPhone ? Register Hardware

    Remember, if you stream games over 3G, you are going to get super slow framerates. You arent going to be able to raid or anything of the sort...
     
  11. stewbeef

    stewbeef New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    iphone+pdanet+wow = yes

    That 'streaming' solution looks to be more trouble than it would ever be worth.

    However, playing WOW on a laptop tethered to iphone running pdanet works like a charm, even out of 3G reach.

    Raiding, vent, the whole deal - 3G is excellent, no problems. "EDGE" performance is more than adequate, although too much chatting on vent can increase latency.

    Also, an hour raiding on WOW uses a fraction of the data of an hour of surfing the internet.
     
  12. nmoore125

    nmoore125 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Kearney, NE
    Ratings:
    +2
    I was just on vacation with my daughter. When she went to bed I played wow. I used wireless tethering and had absolutely no problem playing on my macbook pro. Pings were in the upper 200s. Not perfect but certainly playable.

    I also tried pdanet cause I was curious and it was much worse. Pings in the 600s.
     
Search tags for this page
250kps wow
,
can't ping with pdanet
,
cant connect to wow using pdanet
,
how to speed up tethered connection
,
pda.net block torrent
,
pdanet for gaming
,
pdanet open ports
,

pdanet ports

,

pdanet world of warcraft

,
wow over pdanet