pdanet tethering and world of warcraft is a no go

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by Squidpoker, Dec 26, 2009.

  1. Squidpoker

    Squidpoker Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I tried the free version of pdanet and although it was easy to get working, it was much slower than i thought it would be. Did a speedtest and it was 0.70kbps down and 0.20 kbps up. I wanted to use it to play world of warcraft but it was way too laggy. I tried to see how much bandwidth WoW uses and this is what I came up with........ before I played, I had 438,316.63 KB and after an hour it was 438,397.63 so it used very little bandwidth.....81.25 KBPH. Anyway to get the connection to speed up?
     
  2. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,250
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +6
    Not sure, rooted so can't test. But I doubt it would ever get fast enough....
     
  3. flameboy

    flameboy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    My droid in orange county speed tests from 1.5-2mbps (192-250kps) down and ~756kbps (94.5kps) up. That's more than enough to play WoW.

    Maybe you just got a bad cell tower?
     
  4. SwordOfWar

    SwordOfWar Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Maybe your in a bad area. Don't forget that speeds will rise and fall depending on how fast the towers are around you.

    Forget PDANET though, I'm going to use WiFi Tether (rooted only) when its officially supported by the developer of it. Probably has a lot less restrictions than PDANET.
     
  5. briantek

    briantek New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I believe PDAnet blocks some of the required ports that WoW and other games need to use. I am rooted and using WiFi Tethering and can connect to online servers for the game I play (port = 27960). However, it is not a pleasant experience regardless of how fast of a connection I have. The ping is simply too high and unstable. Before rooting I attempted this with PDAnet and it was a no-go.
     
  6. SwordOfWar

    SwordOfWar Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Unfortunately satellite and tower service is not going to be as ping friendly as a home connection. No way around that really... but for things that don't need a low ping like downloads and movies should work good
     
  7. djvazzo

    djvazzo New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yep you're right
    In two ways. Pdanet also blocks more then 10 Connections at a time. Therefore torrents don't work unless you set connections to 10, and loading a lot of pages at once will cause the PDAnet to drop. So yes, pdanet blocks the port for the gameplay, plus can't handle all of the connections the game is requesting.
    In the paid version you can pay extra to open up more connection slots/ports. I'm guess that will work, but wifiTether is way better either way.

    I tried both, WifiTether takes the cake.
     
  8. phreakaj

    phreakaj Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does pdanet not work with rooted droids????
     
  9. thebowers

    thebowers Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,547
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +1
    I have a rooted droid and pdanet is working fine.
     
  10. Berzerker

    Berzerker Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    There's an error in your math.
    If after 1 hour your KB usage is 438,397.63 KB. Divide that by 1000 and you get 438.4 MB. divide that by 3600 and you get .1218 MB/s, or about 121.8 kbps (kilobytes) or about 974 Kbps (kilobits), which is close enough to 1 Mbps (megabit), which is how the network is advertised.
     
  11. Squidpoker

    Squidpoker Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    No read again, I said my total usage before starting wow was 438,316.63 and after an hour of play it was at 438,397.63.
     
  12. Berzerker

    Berzerker Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you have such little usage only while trying to play WoW, Verizon might block the required ports you need to play through its network.
     
  13. -JD-

    -JD- New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    you can try to install azilink.. and run openvpn on your computer.. works without root and it's free :)
     
  14. mrbear5503

    mrbear5503 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    well i have a question.... is there anyway that you can get billed for using this app and playing WoW or like Counter-Strike, or using like netflicks and downloading movies?
     
  15. bL33d

    bL33d Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    819
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    illinois
    Ratings:
    +0
    Things that are obvious like downloading large movie files will most likely make it easier for them to spot you as suspicious.
     
Search tags for this page
3g tether apps that work with world kf warcraft
,
cant connect to wow using pdanet
,
how to speed up tethered connection
,
pda.net block torrent
,
pdanet open ports
,

pdanet ports

,
pdanet too much latency
,

pdanet world of warcraft

,
world of warcraft phone tethering
,
wow over pdanet