PDAnet Put a Virus on My Laptop!

Discussion in 'HTC Droid Incredible' started by The Droid Lion, May 22, 2010.

  1. The Droid Lion

    The Droid Lion Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    SERIOUSLY!... I was like "this could be a sweet app." It worked Great.. then I turn my laptop off for the night and I turned it back on today and PooF! ****ing addware from HELL!

    Has anyone else had the same problem?


    P.S. I am very very careful with my laptop... I only DL it because it had 250K DL's and 4.5 stars. ARGH!
     
  2. Hugh Jass

    Hugh Jass Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,607
    Likes Received:
    88
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Ratings:
    +88
    There are so many ways to get stuff like this. It may have been dormant on your machine for weeks, months, or even years before you triggered it with a single action.

    Chances are you got it elsewhere.
     
  3. Varking

    Varking Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Winston Salem
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have been using it since I got my Droid in November and never experienced anything like this.
     
  4. nerdbox08

    nerdbox08 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0
    I run it on three computers have never had this problem.

    Like the first response it can come from anywhere. It could have come bundled with something you did download or it downloaded from a bad banner ad. I doubt pdanet did it.
     
  5. The Droid Lion

    The Droid Lion Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I might try and reinstall it... I really like the program. But I am VERY VERY scrutinous with Virus control on my Laptop. IDK how I got it.

    Also I'm a bit paranoid to start with...
     
  6. Hugh Jass

    Hugh Jass Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,607
    Likes Received:
    88
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Ratings:
    +88
    Well either way it's not PDA net, thousands of people use it, many right here on this forum. I'm making this post VIA PDA.

    The content that runs through it, however, is up to you.
     
  7. yojoe600

    yojoe600 New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i never get viruses on mt computer and i dont even have a antivirus software.... and yes i use it to without a problem
     
  8. jocko1960

    jocko1960 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Reinstalling it isn't going to get rid of the adware on your laptop. Like was stated above, its doubtful that was installed with pdanet. It came either from a website you've or someone has visited (banner ads or whatever and that can happen on any website not just the nefarious type) or it was installed with some software you may have added recently.
     
  9. TheMayor

    TheMayor Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I downloaded a version from 4shared. I had a brand new fresh install of windows on my computer, pda net was the only thing I installed and the next day boom, computer was unusable. I know it was pdanet but it was the file I downloaded from 4shared, it was infected.
     
  10. jocko1960

    jocko1960 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    That could be a possibility Mayor. Got my version directly from the market.
     
  11. kmo

    kmo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    I also am using this app with no issues, but I'm using a Macbook so not the same boat as a PC user. (I am assuming you're using a PC.) I'm always a bit worried downloading things from internet sources that I don't know too. Hope you get things worked out...
     
    Last edited: May 23, 2010
  12. nightfishing

    nightfishing Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    mods should change the title of this post.
     
  13. Hugh Jass

    Hugh Jass Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,607
    Likes Received:
    88
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Ratings:
    +88
    That's likely your source then, always download from the market whenever possible. Anyone can modify the software and post it on a storage site like 4shared.
     
  14. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,250
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +6
    This is exactly the reason to download it from the source website. Why dl it from 4sharded...unless you downloaded a warez version that has the https limitation removed...
     
Search tags for this page
how to put a virus on a laptop
,
how to put virus in laptop
,
how to put virus on laptop
,
is pdanet a virus
,
lg g2 pdanet
,
pda.net virus
,
pdanet android virus
,
pdanet desktop virus
,

pdanet virus

,
pdanet virus on computer