1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

PDAnet on DX (MAC)

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by jimbojones, Aug 4, 2010.

  1. jimbojones
    Offline

    jimbojones New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I loaded the latest pdanet today and had no problem running it on win7. I have been unable to get it to work on 10.6.3 and dev does not respond to problem. I even bought the full version thinking that would help...but no. I have followed their mac directions 6 times with same result..."PDAnet fail to find network interface" They mention that is should create an ethernet one during install but never has. I can turn it on on the phone with usb debug and usb storage mode but it soes nto connest...I also know it sees the phone.

    Anybody have any luck on a mac?

    Any way to manually create the network interface?

    tia,

    mr
  2. FreyGrimrod
    Offline

    FreyGrimrod New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Had no problems on my mac book pro after I installed pdanet and setup the ethernet connection under settings network... turning pdanet on on the phone first before plugging in and going to connect under pdanet on the mac

    Have you tried poking at settings?

    Running 10.6.4 and free version of pdanet
  3. NADA918
    Offline

    NADA918 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    have had no probs with my macbook either
  4. jimbojones
    Offline

    jimbojones New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    did YOU set up the ethernet connection or did the installer automatically do it?

    what settings?...pdanet does not have any settings on the phone or mac that I can find only usb or bluetooth.

    If you mean mac settings...I have no idea how to manually set up a network connection.

    thanks

    I tried turning little snitch off too...maybe there is some conflict?...I need to try it on another mac.
  5. FreyGrimrod
    Offline

    FreyGrimrod New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It was a while ago but if I remember right I installed it didn't work then I went to network settings and it was pretty much automatic from there? Find new connection or some such? Wish I was more helpful first mac in many years don't have the os memorized anymore
  6. ManifestDestiny
    Offline

    ManifestDestiny New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    Directions

    If you have your phone currently paired with your Mac, delete the device from your macs bluetooth options. Open bluetooth preferences, select device, and hit the minus button.

    Run PDAnet on your phone and select "enable bluetooth DUN". Select yes to "bluetooth permission request".

    Click on the bluetooth emblem in the top bar of your mac. Select setup bluetooth device.

    Click continue. Select "Mobile phone" and hit continue.

    When it finds your device select it and hit continue.

    When it's done gathering info hit continue.

    A number will come up that you have to type into your phone, do this now and hit "OK".

    Go back to your Mac and make sure that "Access the internet..." and "Use device as a network port" are both checked. Click continue.

    On the next screen, your settings should be as follows:
    Phone Vendor: Generic
    Phone Model: Dialup Device
    Username: (blank)
    Password: (blank)
    Phone Number: 123

    Now click continue.

    Click on your bluetooth icon in the top bar of your mac and put your cursor on the device, go to the drop down and select "connect to network". Voila! Internet access! :icon_ banana: Easy Peasy!

    This whole process needs to be done relatively quickly to work properly. Not insanely fast, just don't step out for a nooner in the middle of it.:icon_ nono:

    If at first you don't succeed, try, try again.
  7. jimbojones
    Offline

    jimbojones New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thanks for the responses..no matter what it fails on 2 macs here. The blutooth comes close and dials in but disconnects in 1-2 secconds which is a common problem with others apparently...after readin the latest junefabrics stuff...I think the blutooth method does not work with dx and mac...just the tether.

    their tech support finally did respond and offered a refund...I will probably keep it because it works fin on my win7...just frustrating I can't get it to work on mac.

    Does anyone know how to manually create a network connection...or could you cut and paste the some grabs of the settings in your "en" that works???

    tia
  8. DebianDog
    Offline

    DebianDog Droid X Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    I used this method and it worked perfectly


    But with the Bluetooth on seemed to burn the battery faster. After I rooted Wireless Tether worked the best (for me)
  9. jimbojones
    Offline

    jimbojones New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I tried many times to get my settings to look like the ones in that video...here are mine:
    [​IMG]

    Uploaded with ImageShack.us

    I can't get this to work...???
  10. DebianDog
    Offline

    DebianDog Droid X Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    Weird I just re-paired mine to check and it looks like this. Posting using the BT connection.

    You are using the Bluetooth menu (on your Mac) to connect it right?
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2010
  11. jimbojones
    Offline

    jimbojones New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    is it a verizon droid x?

    I'm thinking verizon might be behind this somehow?
  12. DebianDog
    Offline

    DebianDog Droid X Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    Yep. NJot sure what to tell you other than the Wireless Tether for root is pretty easy to set up and does not seem to suck the power like BT does.
  13. jimbojones
    Offline

    jimbojones New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    how hard is it to root? I thought the droid x has a bomb in it to brick you?

    I have jailbroken all 3 iphones I owned...is there an application like blackrain that just does it all and is simple?

    tia,
  14. DebianDog
    Offline

    DebianDog Droid X Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia

    I used "Easy Root" The techy in me is ashamed but it was so frickin easy. One click.

    Unstable Apps - Mobile apps for a mobile world

    There is eFuse on the X that will not allow you to load alternative ROMs but I can live without those... for now. They are diligently working on a way around that too.
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2010
  15. jimbojones
    Offline

    jimbojones New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    debiandog...I used easyroot and then wireless tether and it works!!!
    [​IMG]
  16. DebianDog
    Offline

    DebianDog Droid X Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    Grats!

    Sent from my Droid X
  17. Dusty
    Offline

    Dusty Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    763
    Likes Received:
    98
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    DC/NoVA
    Nevermind! Congrats!
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2010
  18. DNoMac
    Offline

    DNoMac New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't mean to bump an old(er) thread, but I found this via google search after unsuccessful attempts before, and this worked like a champ. You sir are a hero and I will now build you a monument.
  19. bobthebob
    Offline

    bobthebob New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    so...
    using a Droid X with MBP Core 2 Duo running 10.6.4, I have managed to get connected via Bluetooth PAN - but not Bluetooth DUN.

    both with and without PDA Net I keep getting modem related errors.
    am I supposed to be connecting via 'modem'? I didn't even know I had a modem...

    here's the network settings I get with BT PAN:
    Network Settings BT PAN.png

    here's the failure I get with BT DUN:
    modem error - BT DUN.png

    and here's a strange check box that *might* be related to the problem (?):
    modem error - BT DUN.png

    any assistance would be gratefully accepted.

    cheers
    b
  20. DebianDog
    Offline

    DebianDog Droid X Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    You did it just like this?

Search tags for this page
e00002c5
,
pdanet e00002c5
,
pdanet error e00002c5
,
pdanet error phone not attached
,
pdanet fail to find network interface
,
pdanet failed to find network interface
,
pdanet mac unable to open interface
,
pdanet phone not attached
,

pdanet unable to open interface

,

pdanet unable to open interface (e00002c5)

,
pdanet unable to open interface e00002c5
,
pdanet unable to open interface mac
,

unable to open interface (e00002c5)

,
unable to open interface e00002c5
,
unable to open interface pdanet