PDAnet on DX (MAC)

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by jimbojones, Aug 4, 2010.

  1. jimbojones

    jimbojones New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I loaded the latest pdanet today and had no problem running it on win7. I have been unable to get it to work on 10.6.3 and dev does not respond to problem. I even bought the full version thinking that would help...but no. I have followed their mac directions 6 times with same result..."PDAnet fail to find network interface" They mention that is should create an ethernet one during install but never has. I can turn it on on the phone with usb debug and usb storage mode but it soes nto connest...I also know it sees the phone.

    Anybody have any luck on a mac?

    Any way to manually create the network interface?

    tia,

    mr
     
  2. FreyGrimrod

    FreyGrimrod Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Had no problems on my mac book pro after I installed pdanet and setup the ethernet connection under settings network... turning pdanet on on the phone first before plugging in and going to connect under pdanet on the mac

    Have you tried poking at settings?

    Running 10.6.4 and free version of pdanet
     
  3. NADA918

    NADA918 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    have had no probs with my macbook either
     
  4. jimbojones

    jimbojones New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    did YOU set up the ethernet connection or did the installer automatically do it?

    what settings?...pdanet does not have any settings on the phone or mac that I can find only usb or bluetooth.

    If you mean mac settings...I have no idea how to manually set up a network connection.

    thanks

    I tried turning little snitch off too...maybe there is some conflict?...I need to try it on another mac.
     
  5. FreyGrimrod

    FreyGrimrod Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    It was a while ago but if I remember right I installed it didn't work then I went to network settings and it was pretty much automatic from there? Find new connection or some such? Wish I was more helpful first mac in many years don't have the os memorized anymore
     
  6. ManifestDestiny

    ManifestDestiny Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Colorado
    Ratings:
    +0
    Directions

    If you have your phone currently paired with your Mac, delete the device from your macs bluetooth options. Open bluetooth preferences, select device, and hit the minus button.

    Run PDAnet on your phone and select "enable bluetooth DUN". Select yes to "bluetooth permission request".

    Click on the bluetooth emblem in the top bar of your mac. Select setup bluetooth device.

    Click continue. Select "Mobile phone" and hit continue.

    When it finds your device select it and hit continue.

    When it's done gathering info hit continue.

    A number will come up that you have to type into your phone, do this now and hit "OK".

    Go back to your Mac and make sure that "Access the internet..." and "Use device as a network port" are both checked. Click continue.

    On the next screen, your settings should be as follows:
    Phone Vendor: Generic
    Phone Model: Dialup Device
    Username: (blank)
    Password: (blank)
    Phone Number: 123

    Now click continue.

    Click on your bluetooth icon in the top bar of your mac and put your cursor on the device, go to the drop down and select "connect to network". Voila! Internet access! :icon_ banana: Easy Peasy!

    This whole process needs to be done relatively quickly to work properly. Not insanely fast, just don't step out for a nooner in the middle of it.:icon_ nono:

    If at first you don't succeed, try, try again.
     
  7. jimbojones

    jimbojones New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks for the responses..no matter what it fails on 2 macs here. The blutooth comes close and dials in but disconnects in 1-2 secconds which is a common problem with others apparently...after readin the latest junefabrics stuff...I think the blutooth method does not work with dx and mac...just the tether.

    their tech support finally did respond and offered a refund...I will probably keep it because it works fin on my win7...just frustrating I can't get it to work on mac.

    Does anyone know how to manually create a network connection...or could you cut and paste the some grabs of the settings in your "en" that works???

    tia
     
  8. DebianDog

    DebianDog Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +0
    I used this method and it worked perfectly

    But with the Bluetooth on seemed to burn the battery faster. After I rooted Wireless Tether worked the best (for me)
     
  9. jimbojones

    jimbojones New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I tried many times to get my settings to look like the ones in that video...here are mine:
    [​IMG]

    Uploaded with ImageShack.us

    I can't get this to work...???
     
  10. DebianDog

    DebianDog Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +0
    Weird I just re-paired mine to check and it looks like this. Posting using the BT connection.

    You are using the Bluetooth menu (on your Mac) to connect it right?
     
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2010
  11. jimbojones

    jimbojones New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    is it a verizon droid x?

    I'm thinking verizon might be behind this somehow?
     
  12. DebianDog

    DebianDog Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yep. NJot sure what to tell you other than the Wireless Tether for root is pretty easy to set up and does not seem to suck the power like BT does.
     
  13. jimbojones

    jimbojones New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    how hard is it to root? I thought the droid x has a bomb in it to brick you?

    I have jailbroken all 3 iphones I owned...is there an application like blackrain that just does it all and is simple?

    tia,
     
  14. DebianDog

    DebianDog Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +0

    I used "Easy Root" The techy in me is ashamed but it was so frickin easy. One click.

    Unstable Apps - Mobile apps for a mobile world

    There is eFuse on the X that will not allow you to load alternative ROMs but I can live without those... for now. They are diligently working on a way around that too.
     
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2010
  15. jimbojones

    jimbojones New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    debiandog...I used easyroot and then wireless tether and it works!!!
    [​IMG]
     
Search tags for this page
e00002c5
,
pdanet e00002c5
,
pdanet error e00002c5
,
pdanet mac unable to open interface
,
pdanet phone not attached
,

pdanet unable to open interface

,
pdanet unable to open interface e00002c5
,
pdanet unable to open interface mac
,
unable to open interface e00002c5
,
unable to open interface pdanet