1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

PDAnet install and setup (guide)

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 3' started by SitSamBry, Jul 10, 2011.

  1. SitSamBry
    Offline

    SitSamBry New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So in case anyone is making the move from OG droid to this wonderful crisp Droid 3 and was previously using PDAnet you may have had the same problem as me trying to get it on the Droid 3 and working.

    I may have a unique case but I figured I'd share to possibly help others if they are in the same boat.

    If you were using titanium backup on the OG droid you should have PDAnet .apk file backed up on there. Copy it off and simply load it on the Droid 3 using your PC or other method. I placed it in the internal storage download folder. Then use ASTRO or another file explorer to find it and install it. Make sure "unknown sources" is checked off in applications settings because this is a new phone (i forgot this one myself because I had checked that box two years ago on my OG droid). Install and it should be working fine using the same USB tethered method you used previously.

    I tested mine out but only for a few seconds. I am still unsure if Verizon is going to monitor and pinpoint uses of this, on my OG droid i never was contacted by them and I used it fairly regularly (once a month) to help in a pinch when working on writing for my blog.

    Anyway hope this helped or at least you enjoyed reading. Loving this phone.
  2. howzball
    Offline

    howzball New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    On my D3 I just went straight to the PDANet website, installed the version on their website onto my computer, plugged in the D3 and it does all the work.
    You probably still need to allow unknown sources though.

    Anyway, it's an alternate method.
  3. mysticalmalissa
    Offline

    mysticalmalissa New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Top of the Rock, TN (Sequatchie)
    This is what I did and it works fine.
  4. MarcStier
    Offline

    MarcStier New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Bluetooth DUN over Verizon?

    I have PDAnet working fine when tethered. But when I try to use it over Bluetooth DUN, I can't get internet access and a screen pops up on my browser from Verizon telling me I need to pay them $20 a month for internet access.

    Anyone else have this problem and know a work around?

    Thanks for your help.
  5. BenLand150
    Offline

    BenLand150 Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,764
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Lincoln, NE
    Same problem here. Dumb Verizon..
  6. localmuaythai
    Offline

    localmuaythai New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    [GUIDE]TBH inspired Free wireless tethering hack instructions for Droid 3 - xda-developers

    dancedroid

    at first i wasn't going to release it... but i figured it wasn't mine to keep secret... the power of free wifi tethering belonged to the community.

    - faylix / local
  7. JohnnyS101
    Offline

    JohnnyS101 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can't you just use the built in 3g tether the droid 3 offers?

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  8. BenLand150
    Offline

    BenLand150 Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,764
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Lincoln, NE
    People don't use it cause it costs money.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  9. windsmith
    Offline

    windsmith New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It costs money AND it doesn't work. The 3G data connection drops randomly - every few seconds to a few hours. Mostly every few seconds though.
  10. shinobi13
    Offline

    shinobi13 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego
    Thanks!

    Works like a charm. Thanks. Will come in handy on those trips were this is no free-wifi for my lappy.
  11. Dankis
    Offline

    Dankis New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    never tried pda net

    BUT ive used easy teather for quite some time now , droid 1 ,experia ,droid 3 and as long as you follow the instructions ive never once had a singleproblem, nothing but smooth sailing (except the varying speeds , but that all changes if/when u purchase full version not the free trial that needs to be re installed
Search tags for this page
how to install pdanet on droid4
,
how to set up pdanet
,
pdanet download for galaxy s4
,

pdanet droid 3

,
pdanet for android ver 3
,
pdanet for droid 3
,

pdanet galaxy nexus

,
pdanet guide
,
pdanet install instructions
,
pdanet instructions
,
pdanet on galaxy s4
,
pdanet setup
,
pdanet setup android
,
pdanet step by step directions
,

pdanet verizon