PDA Net And Verizon Billing...

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by nicks124, Jul 27, 2010.

  1. nicks124
    Offline

    nicks124 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you use pda net is there any chance of being billed? I am just nervous since I am getting great speeds and playing games.
  2. vzwtek
    Offline

    vzwtek New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just try to keep the data usage pretty consistent. {even though its unlimited}.

    Again for right now it doesnt matter, but if and when they go to tiered data packages, then it may be a problem.
  3. ChugIt
    Offline

    ChugIt New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN.
    Use it like crazy, they aren't gonna do anything. Anyone who disagrees, I'd like to see a screen shot proving me wrong. I tether like crazy and use tons of data every month. Nothing is going to happen to you, as I have been doing it for many months with no issue. Enjoy, and ignore anyone who tries to tell you otherwise.
  4. smokiedabong
    Offline

    smokiedabong New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    988
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Internet
    They gonna charge you 100$ for the first 100 MB and after that 5$ for MB , that's 5000$ for 1 GB . You won't have enough money to pay the bill and that's gonna damage your credit score , you won't be able to buy a house so your wife will leave you . You're going to die single and miserable because of tethering , or something like that . At least this is what I understood by reading some of the threads over here .
  5. vzwtek
    Offline

    vzwtek New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Like I said, it doesn't matter, for now............
  6. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,554
    Likes Received:
    1,074
    Trophy Points:
    113
    nope it dont matter but we keep abusing the system and then complain when vzw wants to get rid of the unlimited plan. I tether as well but I also have internet at the house. I use the tethering in blackouts, or to check mail every now and then. So those saying use it like crazy, yeah you can but eventually if enough people keep doing that it will be forcing verizon's hand in doing what is economically best for it company.
  7. alphawave7
    Offline

    alphawave7 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Use it, don't abuse it. :)
  8. Mawnee
    Offline

    Mawnee New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    QFT!

    I've been using it for months. 10mb here 20mb there without issue. If a bunch of people go nuts with it and start showing tens of gigs of data in a billing cycle thay are increasing the likelyhood they will look into it and possibly ruin it for everyone else.
  9. hapster
    Offline

    hapster Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    USA, Kentucky
    Yeah, the people who say "use all you want" don't seem to realize that bandwidth is not infinite. At some point, something's gotta give.

    Sent from my Droid
  10. xxwabbit
    Offline

    xxwabbit Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I'm also mindful of how much I use. But don't you think Verizon did the math before they opened the floodgates to the smart phone market? They had to have known. If they were indeed careless with their foresight then they are to blame. It should have been obvious to them as it is to us. Unlimited=no limits.
  11. *22899
    Offline

    *22899 Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    519
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Come on man don't play games!
  12. vzwtek
    Offline

    vzwtek New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No, Verizon did the math. But if you look at your agreement to use their network, any penalizing use of data on their network can lead to either the suspension or termination of your account. So like i said...... it wont matter for now............
  13. LifeIsABeach
    Offline

    LifeIsABeach New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Verizon did do the math. Unlimited=phone. Unlimited!=tethering.
  14. erikfig
    Offline

    erikfig Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    544
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16

    Exactly!! I thether like a serial killer!! My kids on youtube plus my wife and me on the other end watching Frontline pbs and online movies. Verizon don' give a damm!

    And please all! Stop the freaking rumor of Verizon and and the limited data plans!

    That is not gonna happends. One of my family members works on he marketing site for he company and that is not even considered by Verizon yet so stopped!!!!!!

    Just tether and freaking enjoy!!!!!!!!!!! :icon_ banana:
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2010
  15. kwyjibo3
    Offline

    kwyjibo3 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Verizon CFO John Killian:
    "We have indicated in the past, as we move to an LTE world and LTE pricing, we will probably look very hard at tiered pricing, and that continues to be our thinking right now. So more to come on that. By the way, I should say that all of our efforts, all of our plans on getting LTE launched in the fourth quarter are on schedule."
  16. DAVPX
    Offline

    DAVPX New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    What people don't seem to understand is the meaning of bandwidth. Bandwidth, is the scope of signal frequency used in transmission, has little to do with speed or data usage as you may know it. A more accurate word in this case would be Throughput, is the ammount of data you can push through the pipe at any given time. Sure it's limited but Verizon owns their own circuits. They are an ISP after all. No one sends them a larger bill when their customers use 5GB as opposed to 500MB. It doesn't cost the company a single extra penny to pass more data from one month to the next. Now imagine a feature like speedboost (offered by COX) which for a moment increases your individual throughput. Something like that can cost extra money because one guy is taking up more of the pipe than the next at that given moment. Think of the internet as an endless pipe. Verizon doesn't pay for the length of the pipe they use, they pay for how thick their portion of the pipe is.
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2010
  17. zenman77
    Offline

    zenman77 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Toledo, Ohio
    Brilliant........ It's wizards like this that cause problems for others.
  18. takeshi
    Offline

    takeshi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,600
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    They should bill you whether you use it or not (you have to pay for your service). If, instead, you mean hit you with fees/penalties, there are no guarantees. Just be aware that it's against their TOS.
  19. ChugIt
    Offline

    ChugIt New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN.
    Still, I use it all I want.
  20. erikfig
    Offline

    erikfig Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    544
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16

    Same here!
Search tags for this page
in pipe could not be opened
,
in pipe could not be opened pdanet
,
on pdanet it says out pipe can not be opened
,

out pipe could not be opened

,

out pipe could not be opened err 5

,
outpipe could not be.opened on pdanet
,
pdanet android out pipe could not be opened error 5
,
pdanet error out pipe
,

pdanet out pipe could not be opened

,

pdanet outpipe could not be opened

,
pdanet outpipe could not opened
,
what happens if i use pdanet