1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Pandora + Froyo...Not Good

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by dandaman11223344, Aug 3, 2010.

  1. dandaman11223344
    Offline

    dandaman11223344 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have been using pandora for a while with 2.1 but when I made the switch to cyanogenmod cm6 it doesn't work properly. Before, if I had pandora open when either navigation or a phone call came on, it would pause and automatically come back on after the prompt or call. Now in froyo, it shuts it down and I have to reopen it manually. Is there any setting to fix this or do I just have to wait for a pandora update.
  2. Moondonkey
    Offline

    Moondonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    weird...

    Pandora works fine for me. I am running CM6 RC2.

    Made a phone call today, then Pandora came right back on.
  3. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,039
    Likes Received:
    855
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I would suggest you talk to pandora but this is what they told me:

    Unfortunately we don't support Pandora on rooted phones. Sorry for the inconvenience.

    Thanks again for writing,
    Mike

    Listener Support Manager, Pandora


  4. sling0
    Offline

    sling0 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had the same issue on any froyo release if you search around a temp fix is available. If you can't find it post back and ill see if I can dig it up again

    Sent from my droid using Tapatalk
  5. dandaman11223344
    Offline

    dandaman11223344 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I cant' find it. Can you give me a link or point me in the right direction. Thanks
  6. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,039
    Likes Received:
    855
    Trophy Points:
    113
    dude if you get me that fix u r the man
  7. sling0
    Offline

    sling0 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=737111

    Use the build.props method

    To test it out open a terminal and just do the setprop line leavind off the adb part as we are working locally on the device. I did this last night and pandora/slacker are no longer flat. However this breaks watching youtube in browser. The later posts have a suggestion to allow you to enable/disable it easily if you need youtube in browser. The youtube app still works though... gl and let me know if you have any questions.

    Sent from my droid using Tapatalk
  8. Kandiru
    Offline

    Kandiru New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  9. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,039
    Likes Received:
    855
    Trophy Points:
    113
    because some of us prefer pandora/slacker
  10. aminaked
    Offline

    aminaked New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California, USA
    because pandora doesn't run on boot and pandora has an exit button. i sometimes use cherry rplayer too.
  11. dandaman11223344
    Offline

    dandaman11223344 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I tried the setprop message but it didn't work. Can you tell me exactly what to type and are there any other ways to do it if I can't get it to work
  12. sling0
    Offline

    sling0 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    your phones rooted correct?

    Heres what I did to get the fix enabled on my rooted droid (any 2.2/Froyo release, not sure if this bug persists in the OTA release)

    This information was originally from the XDA link above. Here it is done slightly different on a droid:

    This temporarily applies the fix, after doing this you may restart any open media apps and see the difference.

    1. use your favorite terminal emulator... I use connectbot local session...

    <code>
    su
    setprop media.stagefright.enable-player false
    </code>

    2. restart media apps and boom boom boom in your car again :)



    the permanent method:

    1. open said terminal emulator, remount /system read write this is available as a script on most roms by doing:

    <code>
    su
    sysrw
    </code>

    2. Go into the /system directory and edit build.prop

    <code>
    su (if your not already previously admin from su'ing earlier)
    cd /system
    </code>
    Next use your favorite text editor to edit build.prop

    <code>
    nano build.prop
    </code>
    or
    <code>
    vi build.prop
    </code>
    Note if you must use VI be aware of the commands before you attempt to edit the file, as it is an acquired taste to use. I think you can also edit this via astro and edit it, this may be the easiest way for non console junkies :)

    edit the line with media.stagefright.enable-player=true to say media.stagefright.enable-player=false

    <code>
    media.stagefright.enable-player=false
    </code>

    save the file and reboot your phone. The fix is now permanently applied :)

    DO NOT MESS AROUND WITH OTHER OPTIONS IN THIS FILE UNLESS YOU KNOW WHAT YOU ARE DOING AS YOU COULD MESS UP YOUR CURRENT ROM AND HAVE TO REFLASH! I AM NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR WHAT YOU DO WITH THIS INFORMATION!

    Note: This will break m.youtube.com video streaming, however the youtube app will still play videos.

    Sorry if this tutorial is not great, as its my first tutorial on this type of thing :|
  13. dandaman11223344
    Offline

    dandaman11223344 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I edited the line and it worked to some extent. Before after a call I would have to open it would have been completely shut down, so I had to wait for it to reload. Now, after a call it is still open on the same song but it is paused and after the call I still have to click play
  14. stonegold
    Offline

    stonegold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think that's the wrong fix. That's just to keep quality. This is a problem with Pandora pausing when the GPS starts talking, but not restarting again. I wrote to Pandora and got this response -

    Sorry about that. This is a known issue with navigation apps interrupting audio for some listeners running Android 2.2. Hopefully this will be addressed in the next Android update. Thanks so much for your patience in the meantime!

    Tom K @ Pandora


    Thing is, I know Last.FM doesn't have the problem.
  15. Zandar
    Offline

    Zandar New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    0
    <code>
    su
    sling0-is-rad=true
    </code>
Search tags for this page

my pandora is working with froyo

,

pandora doesn't work on cyanogenmod