Pair watch with new phone without a FDR?

Discussion in 'Watches (Android Wear, Tizen/Samsung, etc)' started by Sajo, Dec 2, 2015.

  1. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    11,511
    Likes Received:
    7,217
    Trophy Points:
    1,863
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +7,731
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Droid Z Force
    Here is a question for the smart watch community. have you found a way to pair your watch with a new phone without doing a FDR on the watch? I setup my new phone last night and selected "Forget This Watch" in the AW App on my old phone first. I was hoping there was a way to just pair the watch to the new phone, like other BT devices; but could not find a way. Did a FDR on the watch and then performed the initial pairing with the new phone and all is good. Doing a FDR on the watch is probably the best option anyway, so the watch and phone start of freshly paired. Just curious to know if the option even exists, or if anyone else has found a different way.
     
  2. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    7,107
    Trophy Points:
    1,278
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +8,455
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    When I got my 6P, I just did the FDR on the watch right away. I figured that was the best/cleanest way to set it up with a new phone, like you said.

    I would assume that the FDR is required because of the nature of the device. Since the apps installed on your watch are directly related to what's installed on your phone, it'd be chaos to just pair the watch to a new phone that might not have all of the same apps installed on it. Unless they did a "forget phone" or "pair with new phone" option that uninstalled all watch apps, but at that point, I think you'd be best off doing the FDR anyway.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    11,511
    Likes Received:
    7,217
    Trophy Points:
    1,863
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +7,731
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Droid Z Force
    That's kind of what I was thinking Jonny. Was just curious if I was over looking something. I think that is the only option right now, and agree its probably the best way to go. Maybe a future AW version will have an "Unpair / Forget" option that will be similar to the FDR without the full reset? At least it's a pretty quick process.

    Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  4. Mustang02

    Mustang02 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    7,624
    Likes Received:
    5,114
    Trophy Points:
    1,563
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +6,072
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6P/5X
    I've always had to do an FDR on the watch.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  5. 94lt1

    94lt1 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    17,150
    Likes Received:
    4,040
    Trophy Points:
    1,138
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +4,530
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2
    If I move my gwatch from my note edge..to my turbo, I always have just done an fdr on the watch..and made sure I had androidwear on the device..
     
  6. Gudasau

    Gudasau Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Messages:
    767
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    Mountaineer living in Buckeye Nation
    Ratings:
    +691
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Z-Force
    Did y'all figure out if you can pair with a new phone without doing an FDR on the watch?
     
  7. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    7,107
    Trophy Points:
    1,278
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +8,455
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    I believe that's still a requirement.

    Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
  8. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    11,511
    Likes Received:
    7,217
    Trophy Points:
    1,863
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +7,731
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Droid Z Force
    Not that I am aware of, I think that is the only way. FDR on the watch. Then install Android Wear on your new phone and start the pairing process. I don't know of any other way.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. Gudasau

    Gudasau Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Messages:
    767
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    433
    Location:
    Mountaineer living in Buckeye Nation
    Ratings:
    +691
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Z-Force
    Thanks, guys! Off to do a reset... (Off topic, kinda, but this phone ROCKS!)
     
    • Like Like x 2