Overhauled SetCPU

Discussion in 'Android Custom & Themes' started by serveitup911, Jun 27, 2010.

  1. mkthnx001

    mkthnx001 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    United States
    Ratings:
    +0
    The new UI and features are great in my opinion. I also took this opportunity to increase my overlocking numbers. :)

    Curious to see what running at 1.1GHz/125MHz while the battery is over 60% does to my battery life since I send/receive hundreds (300+) of texts daily. Not too much of a drain I hope.
     
  2. ecsnead69

    ecsnead69 Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,316
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +1
    yeah, I am on Jrum 1.1 and the sysrw command isn't recognized.... I will find another way.... there's always adb..... thanks though!
     
  3. coolbho3000

    coolbho3000 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    They're just kind of hanging around in there. I haven't gotten around to implementing background changing yet. Probably in the next version. You can manually switch them in the zip if you want, or make your own.
     
  4. mkthnx001

    mkthnx001 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    United States
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey coolbho3000, would you know why everytime I reboot, or go back to my home screen, SetCPU's widget displays the current CPU speed even though when placing the widget on my screen I selected "passive"?

    EDIT: Forgot to mention it's been doing this since the last 3 updates. (started resetting after going back to home screen since 2.0.)
     
  5. coolbho3000

    coolbho3000 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I haven't seen this happen, but I will look into it. I haven't really touched the widget for a while but will be revisiting it very soon.

    EDIT: I see what you mean. The widget seems to set the current speed every time the speed is manually set. I think I changed some things while adapting the widget for 2.0.0 (clumsy of me). I will be fixing it in the next version.
     
  6. mkthnx001

    mkthnx001 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    United States
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks; it's been doing it to a friend of mine as well. He's running the first leaked Froyo build, I'm running the second/latest.
     
  7. Orion223

    Orion223 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    MAJOR ISSUE :( cannot install apps ... Astro or Terminal Emulator - any ideas? Before you ask, I came from BB, so I wiped both three times each :(
     
  8. coolbho3000

    coolbho3000 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, I'm pretty sure SetCPU didn't do it.
     
  9. Orion223

    Orion223 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    OMG wasn't payin attention to what thread I was in :icon_eek:
     
  10. kennydied23

    kennydied23 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Ratings:
    +2
    Can someone answer me this: what do the advanced settings do? By tweaking them, can we achieve a more stable overclock? Is there something like a reference page I can read or something?
     
  11. coolbho3000

    coolbho3000 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Linux Kernel Documentation :: cpu-freq : governors.txt

    Look under "ondemand" and "conservative." It will not affect overclock stability at all.