Overclocking

Discussion in 'Droid 2 Roms' started by cron666, Mar 12, 2011.

  1. cron666

    cron666 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I didnt bother using the quickclock app because I already use JRummy's overclock app with its sweet widget dancedroid

    Disclaimer: DO NOT set these values on boot if you are having random reboots during normal operation! I take no responsibility if your handset cannot handle these values. All processors are slightly different. This is a guide, not set in stone. I also don't have anything against quickclock, but I DO want ppl to have a choice with their overlocking.

    So onto my mini-guide for overclocking the D2

    Getting better battery life is dependent on many variables, there are only 3 that I will discuss here. CPU voltage, CPU frequency scaling, and Profiles.

    The CPU can be UNDERVOLTED to make it consume less power for a given operation. This method is popular with the HTPC crowd who want make the CPU run cooler so they can run quieter fans in their boxes.

    You may be familiar with CPU frequency scaling if you use linux on a laptop.
    CPUs have the ability to switch between faster and slower clocks depending on usage.
    many modern laptops can switch between 600MHz, 800MHz, 1.2GHz, 1.6GHz, 1.8 GHz and whatever their max is.
    They usually have 4 or 5 slots like our handsets.

    Profiles are what the CPU uses as a guide to what slots to use when certain events are taking place.
    The governor also plays a part in this, but is more geared towards the CPU's usage, not yours. (someone correct me if I'm wrong)

    My current values:

    Slot 1: 300MHz @ 18 volt (I think I can go lower, haven't had any reboots yet)
    Slot 2: 500MHz @ 35 volt (I'm sure I can bring this down)
    Slot 3: 800MHz @ 45 volt
    Slot 4: 1.3GHz @ 65 volt (had it at 67 last week, stable with angry birds GF=:happy:)

    These are definately not real voltage numbers, simply "voltage" values of the OS

    My Profiles:

    Code:
    Priority   Type                max    min
    100        Temp > 53*C         300    300     (cool processor down real fast)
    73         Screen On          1300    300     (can go down to 300 when idle)
    59         Battery < 20%       500    300     (slow it down to keep from dying on that last bit)
    50         Charging/Full      1300    300
    38         Screen Off          500    300     (you may use 300 max if you do not run radio streams)
    The profile zip contains the db file you can import to JRummy's and you can use my profiles. Unzip before use.
    The profiles are universal, can be used with any device that supports 300MHz minimum and 1300MHz max, if your max speed is lower than mine, adjust the maxes in the profile accordingly if the app doesn't do it for you. (it should)

    The attached presets zip can be directly imported into JRummy's overclock app.
    ::REMEMBER:: DO NOT SET UNTESTED VALUES ON BOOT!!!!
    ::REMEMBER:: All processors are different, some may work after a break in period, and some will never work with values this low.
     
    #1 cron666, Mar 12, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2011
  2. jeffv2

    jeffv2 Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    south jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    Those frequincies look terrible... you should prbably try to make the slots smoother from transitions.. like 300, 450,550, 800, 1000, 1300. But idk how meany slots you can have on your phone or app..

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  3. WugFresh

    WugFresh Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +1
    @OP
    Do you use cron and are you evil? Lol!

    On topic; Overclock settings will be different for different people due to hardware variance. Your settings could easily be perfect for you but subpar/unstable for someone else, that is why Quickclock is nice, because it figures out your optimal settings without manual testing.

    Edit: I see your ::Remember:: thing now, sorry. :p

    {{ WugFresh }}
     
  4. cron666

    cron666 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    yea I kept going back and updating for the past 15 mins.

    @jeffv2 the droid 2 still has a locked bootloader that checks the kernel, we cannot run custom kernels yet. im jelly tho :rolleyes:

    yes I use crontab heavily, it rawx my sox
     
  5. trook

    trook Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    616
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lake Elsinore Ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    another option is to run quickclock, then export the quickclock values into jrummys app.
     
  6. cron666

    cron666 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    wheres the fun in that?!
    no playing with voltages and praying for stability?? :D
     
  7. trook

    trook Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    616
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lake Elsinore Ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    You don't have to use the quickclock settings, you can override anything you want, you can use theirs for slot1 and make your own for the rest. I have both quickclock advanced as well as jrummys droid overclock, I use both depending on which way the wind is blowing......

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  8. gammaxgoblin

    gammaxgoblin Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I agree in just using the quickclock app. It does all the "discovery" of finding the best values for your specific phone with your specific hardware. The quality of the internals varies from phone to phone, that's how they cut costs, otherwise you may add a hundred bucks to the price to get components that are consistant.

    Soooo using somebody else vsel and clock settings is a poor idea...that is wha works best on their phone. Quickclock customizes your phone to its optimal settings but also gives you the freedom to tweak those settings to squeeze out a few percent more of speed or battery life.

    Just use quickclock and get back to actually using your phone lol

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  9. cron666

    cron666 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    how does quickclock find the optimal settings?
    how does it monitor the stability of the phone?
    you have my interest peaked.
     
  10. trook

    trook Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    616
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lake Elsinore Ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    it runs stress tests at every clock speed at every voltage setting and determines the safest speed for your device with the lowest voltage setting should you choose it. every processor is a tiny bit different, yours might run great at 1401mhz well that would crash mine, mine likes to run at 1391 instead, quickclock detects it, then sets it.
     
  11. kptphalkon

    kptphalkon Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +6
    It doesnt run a stress test lol. It tests for like 10 seconds, by no means is that stressing the cpu.

    If you want to find out how stable you will run at a certain speed/voltage you'll just have to set it and see what happens after a day or two
     
  12. Goodlefeed

    Goodlefeed Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I never knew quickclock had this kind of capability!

    I plan on digging into that and seeing if I can improve on my current profiles :)