overclocking without new rom?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by slreno, Sep 26, 2010.

  1. slreno

    slreno New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i rooted my droid and installed setcpu2.0 and have my phone overclocked to 800mhz ,,, at least i think i do! my question is am i really running 800mhz or do i need to install a custom rom to actually be able to have it over clocked. it says i am running at 800mhz in setcpu but i have been reading that it wont actually overclock unless a custom rom is installed.
    thanks
     
  2. Tallica

    Tallica Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Nope, you're all good if you have SetCpu and an overclocked kernel.
     
  3. jstafford1

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,155
    Likes Received:
    223
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +228
    In the 2.2 update the processor got clocked up to 800mhz. So you are running there. If you want to go faster you don't need a ROM just a new kernel. There are several to choose from, chevyno1, p3droid, slayher to name a few. If you like what you have with stock android and just want more speed all you need is a kernel.


    *edit* tallica you beat me grrrrr
     
  4. slreno

    slreno New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i have rom manager premium, so i just find a kernal with the speed i want and install it with rom manager? and i wont lose what i already have as far as installed apps and photos and so on, and i will stillbe able to use setcpu to throttle the cpu speed if i like correct?
     
  5. Tallica

    Tallica Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Correct, just don't wipe
     
  6. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    Make a backup so you can just restore it if something goes wrong, though.
     
  7. Online1

    Online1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Anchorage, Alaska
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't know about 2.2. But I am running 2.1 stock and I am overclocked to 1000mhz. I just rooted and run a app called Milestone/Droid Overclock. It is on the Market. 1000mhz is the highest I can O/C without problems. It will go to 1200mhz but the phone does not like it.

    Edit: I know see that it does not work on 2.2. So SetCPU would be the way to go for you.
     
  8. IanG

    IanG Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    No it didn't, I'm almost certain that's just a rumor. When I was stock on 2.2, my processor was limited to 550mHz
     
  9. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    Flash requires 800MHz to run under Linux. Android is Linux. Ergo the CPU has to be able to clock up to 800MHz to run Flash. Net result? When Flash is running the CPU hits the 800MHz step in the now-mandatory 7-step kernel. That means if you root a stock 2.2 install and run SetCPU you can scale up to 800MHz without a custom kernel. The rest of the time it tops out at 600MHz.
     
  10. IanG

    IanG Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Interesting, I thought Flash un-supported the Droid because it wasn't fast enough to run Flash (hence limiting at 600 or so)?
     
  11. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
  12. IanG

    IanG Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    He also posted that for the Droid 2, not Droid 1 ;)
     
  13. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
  14. IanG

    IanG Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Ah, well, i dunno then. Seems like Adobe says no, but then says yes, then says no. Seems like my girlfriend >_<
     
  15. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    Adobe Flash Player 10.1 certified devices

    So, to get back on topic. OP -- did you upgrade your kernel? If so, how did it work? Just a word of advice if you're going to kernel jump make sure you install 2.2/FroYo kernels and do NOT install Eclair, okay?
     
Search tags for this page

android overclock without root

,
best cpu overclock for hawii ascend
,
custom rom overclock huawei ascend m860
,
how to overclock android phone without rooting
,
how to overclock android without custom rom
,
how to overclock no root
,
no root overclock huawei
,
overclock no root
,
overclock without root
,
overclocking s4 without rooting