Overclocking versus Kernal Slot Sizes, Need an Intellect !

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by heymikewalker, Jun 10, 2010.

1. heymikewalker

heymikewalker New Member

Okay so I'm new to this. I just got my froyo up and running (YAY) and I'm having difficulty.

My phone is running at ~30 degrees idle but atleast 45 when I'm on wifi just looking at dolphin browser.

I don't know if that is bad but thats hot in my palm aka annoying.

Anyways heres my questions
    Whats the difference between the 250 mhz and the 125 mhz models?

I thought that the higher the better and I hear about people running at 1.0 ghz, but now I understand it might be overclocked to that degree not just set there.

I got the
    "1000 = 250/500/600/700/800/900/1000"

Is this causing it to run hot?
    Should I go lower and over clock or is that the same?

What do the increasing numbers mean, I mean I figure theres are a max and a min involved but why are there 7 different digits?

I think some one should have a mhz and ghz FAQ section cause I am uninformed...
  2. gavron

gavron New Member

Mine runs between 28°C and 45°C depending. Either way it's well within tolerance. A 50% difference between idle and active is much less than what happens on your home PC or laptop :)

I use an Innocase from Seideo to protect my droid from falls. It also spreads the heat out more evenly and it is comfortable to hold

The lowest frequency is the lowest underclock speed available. If you're using SetCPU and have the screen-off profile set to 125MHz it will save a tiny bit more power than 250MHz.

Yes, you ARE running the processor at half speed... but there are certain background services that are always running. Running at half speed means they run twice as long.

The only reason to overclock is if your phone is not responsive or "snappy" enough. It still needs to do the same "work". If the processor is running faster, it will do that work more quickly.