Overclocking The Droid?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by Kage, Dec 25, 2009.

  1. Kage

    Kage Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anyone Done This Yet?

    Supposedly they underclocked the processor to 550 MHz, When the processor at stock is 600 MHz
     
  2. rican408

    rican408 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Waiting for this as well... heard u can clock it to 1gig with it still being stable. Prolly at the cost of heat and battery life. Im willing to take that tradeoff....
     
  3. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,260
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Ratings:
    +17
    Where are you reading any of this? Very interested in pushing my Droid...
     
  4. iSecks

    iSecks Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Don't even try. You'll kill the processor. If it is capable of getting that high, there's no doubt it'll be EXTREMELY hot.
     
  5. Berzerker

    Berzerker Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's possible. The OMAP3430 (the processor the Droid uses) is true stock clocked at 800MHz, but that drains batteries within an hour so it's completely unrealistic. The iPhone 3GS runs the same processor clocked at 613MHz. Currently, the kernel does not support pushing the processor over 550MHz. So we have to wait and see what kind of modifying people will do to the kernel.
     
  6. Kage

    Kage Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    But I thought our processor was this.>ARM Cortex-A8 - ARM Processor
     
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2009
  7. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,260
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Ratings:
    +17
    No...One day there will be 2 ghz phones..... Can't wait!
     
  8. Kage

    Kage Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'd Much Rather Have A 2 GHz Netbook With A Network Card.
     
  9. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,260
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Ratings:
    +17
    Already have a laptop with that....
     
  10. Kage

    Kage Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Then Get a 4 GHz Laptop?
     
  11. Berzerker

    Berzerker Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes. ARM is a type of architecture. The Droid uses a Texas Instruments OMAP3430 processor, based on the ARM Cortex-A8 architecture. It also seems I misread the website. the 3440 is clocked at 800MHz, while the 3430, the droid's is stock at 600MHz. But, newly designed models, such as the 3640, are stock at 1GHz...so there are phone processors that are reaching the 1GHz area.

    On a side note, the Google Nexus One and Acer Liquid phones run a Qualcomm Snapdragon processor clocked at 1GHz.
     
  12. korp

    korp Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try the app SetCPU for Root Users ... $.99 .... says you need root and the Superuser app.
     
Search tags for this page

how to overclock snapdragon 800 with no root

,

motorola droid overclock

,

setcpu for milestone or cortex a8 cpu?