Overclocking Stability

Discussion in 'Bugless' started by nmos, Jun 6, 2010.

  1. nmos
    Offline

    nmos Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    I keep seeing people using 1GHz+ kernels but with my Droid it seems like anything past the standard 600MHz kernel results in flakiness. Not boot loops, not reboots, just the occasional pause or glitch with Home++ that I never seem to see with a 600MHz kernel. I've used both the Bekit and P3 kernels with the same results. How common is this?
     
  2. hookerdj
    Offline

    hookerdj Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,814
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    pittsburgh
    Ratings:
    +0
    are you wiping data and cache when you are installing? just wandering?
     
  3. hookerdj
    Offline

    hookerdj Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,814
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    pittsburgh
    Ratings:
    +0
    if i were you i would try using launcherprobeta free in the market or adwlauncher in market and see if you have the same results? i think in spare parts you can make transitions to fast. Are you in setcpu hitting your menu key to hit autodetect?on your device selection and not the droid?
     
  4. nmos
    Offline

    nmos Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Not when I'm just swapping kernels.
     
  5. nmos
    Offline

    nmos Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    I don't have Setcpu installed at this time. As for trying a different Home app, that seems worth a try. I guess my concern is that if it is causing Home++ to misbehave then what else might it be silently corrupting that I don't even notice?
     
  6. nmos
    Offline

    nmos Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Re SetCpu: Maybe I should be running SetCpu so I can experiment with different speeds without swapping kernels all the time. I know with Version 1.0 of BB SetCpu was discouraged, is it OK to run now?
     
  7. jimnutt
    Offline

    jimnutt Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Morrisville, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    The processor is technically only rated for 600 MHz. You may just have been unlucky enough to get one that won't do any better. I know my first Droid wasn't stable above 800 MHZ, my wife's and my current droid handle 1 GHz just fine.
     
  8. kodiak799
    Offline

    kodiak799 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,961
    Likes Received:
    283
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Ratings:
    +293
    I ditched Home++....Had all kinds of issues and force closes even in stock.

    It was a nice start app for me (wish I had my money back, though!), but there are better, more stable home apps that do similar things and more.
     
Similar Threads
  1. ohshtson
    Replies:
    19
    Views:
    13,080
  2. mohammedkanan
    Replies:
    Views:
    N/A
  3. a86me
    Replies:
    Views:
    N/A
  4. thelopenator
    Replies:
    Views:
    N/A
  5. xm0067
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    718
Loading...