Overclocking/SetCPU/TempMonitor/Heat Conventions on BB1.0

Discussion in 'Bugless' started by joshdub223, May 13, 2010.

  1. joshdub223

    joshdub223 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +0
    haha. sounds good pete. so far you're right, your rom is wonderful. cant wait to see the next version.
     
  2. superglen99

    superglen99 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    779
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Auburn,WA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just removed set cpu and temp monitor. lets see if i notice a difference.
     
  3. Bear in NM

    Bear in NM Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,389
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +1
    Just for the record, and only on my phone, history has proven to me that while the spec sheets for the processor may rate some ungodly amount, at around 130F my phone will start shutting itself down. It did this back in the early oc/Setcpu days, and I confirmed it on one of the early Pete Approved kernels in the original v1 thread. I am using the "revised" 1200 with no heat issues. If the phone is rated for just short of boiling water, and I know it will shut down itself long before that point, what is the risk?

    I still use setcpu for the scaling, as I often find myself in some pretty remote locations where I can still use phone features other than phone and web, and I like being able to push the battery life. Otherwise I would be done with setcpu and temp monitoring, knowing that my phone will start fc'ing and shutting down way before any sheet spec maximums. As I have posted in other Setcpu/heat threads, if you still have Setcpu installed, try some different kernels and run the Setcpu extended bench test. This should confirm some things for you.

    Craig
     
  4. grandenigma1

    grandenigma1 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is there a script I need to run to enable this or is it set by default?
     
  5. dbz443

    dbz443 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Bbv1 automatically scales the procesor based on the load of the apps running. That was the point of himdoing away with need for setcpu. Running it along with setcpu is redundant . If you have a temp monitor you can see for yourself when the procesor is getting to hot and you can give it a break making the failsafe profile not needed.
     
  6. Bear in NM

    Bear in NM Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,389
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +1
    DBZ,

    Yes I do understand what BBV1 does internally. Perhaps I was a little confusing by mentioning speed and temperature in the same post, but the scaling I was refering to is dropping the max speed to a lower level to push the battery life a bit. When I am using my mapping program in remote locations, I do not need 1.2G on the top end for maps and gps to work. By manually reducing to 550 top end, it makes sense to me that the lower speed should theoretically equate to less battery drain.

    Reflashing a lower speed kernel would be silly, and while I could probably run a script to throttle the high end back, a couple of clicks on setcpu handles it. And has been mentioned, if you do not have setcpu run profiles at boot, and do not run the widget, it simply sits on the phone much like other aps that do zero until activated.

    Craig
     
Search tags for this page
arm926ej overclock
,

arm926ej-s overclock

,
arm926 overclock
,
overclock arm926
,
overclock arm9 android
,
overclocking arm926ej-s nas
,
setcpu overclock s4
,
via arm926 overclock