1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Overclocking question

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by cnmsales, Jun 23, 2010.

  1. cnmsales
    Offline

    cnmsales New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    SetCPU. Is this something I need to install if I dont intend to Overclock, or underclock my droid?

    Without it, or another OC app, the droid will clock at normal speeds correct?
  2. Kmart95
    Offline

    Kmart95 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Do you have an oc kernal installed? If not then no having set cpu is pretty much pointless but if you do then it is something you should definetly get.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  3. zerosouls
    Offline

    zerosouls Soulless Droid Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Menzoberranzan
    What ROM are you using as your main?
  4. cnmsales
    Offline

    cnmsales New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    zero im currently just using FRF57 . Im actually getting ready to install kangerade...... But i have a few questions i need answered, I have another thread in this forum i need responded to.


    KMART.... I do have an overclocking kernal installed. BUT , even with an OC kernal installed if i dont have setcpu installed it will just run at normal clock speeds right?
  5. Kmart95
    Offline

    Kmart95 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    I'm no expert but I think it depends on the rom, some roms with oc kernals default to the stock speeds some will clock it to whatever the kernals max is.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  6. zerosouls
    Offline

    zerosouls Soulless Droid Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Menzoberranzan
    honestly, I run with ChegvyNo1 1.25ghz kernel without setcpu and I see really good temperatures and good battery life. I really dont run games a whole lot, sometimes do, but I am a heavy user otherwise.

    I recommend trying a 1ghz kernel for a day are two without SetCPU, use TempMonitor app to keep an eye on temps and then make a decision to move forward.
  7. cnmsales
    Offline

    cnmsales New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok good deal. What is the highest temp i should let it get to before i worry.

    Also could you take a look @ my other thread? Id like to get this done tonight and the hours are going fast lol.
  8. zerosouls
    Offline

    zerosouls Soulless Droid Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Menzoberranzan
    I'd say, to be safe, stay away from the 50c temp... but even then, the droid should be able to handle it on a temporary basis... I never see it go far from 40c with heavy usage.
  9. cnmsales
    Offline

    cnmsales New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok good deal. Had it OC to 1100 all day today. Even when outside in 100 degree weather the phone never went above 40C
  10. zerosouls
    Offline

    zerosouls Soulless Droid Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Menzoberranzan
    Your set, play around and enjoy :D
  11. cnmsales
    Offline

    cnmsales New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Another question in regards to settings in SetCPU.

    #1 , What is the stock clock speed for the moto droid?
    #2, If I set SetCPU to min 125 max 900 then this is overclocking it 900 correct?
    #3, Presuming my assumptions are right in #2 if I wanted to preserve battery life on my droid I would want to set min to lowest it will go IE 125 and then the lower I set the MAX, the better battery life I will get correct?
    #4 Why is there a min and max setting on setCPU? Is this designed to work much like the turbo feature in intel chips in that it only overclocks to the higher setting when the cpu max's out and needs it?
  12. lunargecko
    Offline

    lunargecko New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    1. 550MHz
    2. Yup
    3. Yup
    4. So that your phone will run at a lower clockspeed when you're not using it to save battery, and then go to the max clockspeed when you do use it so that it's more responsive and faster.
  13. mkthnx001
    Offline

    mkthnx001 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    United States
    1. 250MHz Min, 550MHz Max, or a consistent speed of 550MHz I believe.
    2. Yes.
    3. Yes, but make sure your Max isn't too low, or you will experience unwanted occurrences, including slowness.
    4. The CPU stays at the Min settings until it needs to ramp up. You can define an "Up Threshold" and "Powersave bias" in SetCPU's advanced settings.

    Look here for more information:

    Overclocking 101
  14. cnmsales
    Offline

    cnmsales New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the link. Wonder if you have any recomendations on settings for setCPU profiles. I currently have them enabled and set as follows:
    Charging: 1100 Max 700 Min
    Sleep: 400 Max 125 Min
    Battery 100%: 1100 Max 125 Min
    Bat 50%: 700 max 125 min
    Bat 26%: 500 max 125 min
    Fail Safe Temp 50C 500Max 125min

    All other settings are @ default.
  15. mkthnx001
    Offline

    mkthnx001 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    United States
    Mine are:

    Default: 900/125
    Battery < 61%: 800/125
    < 41%: 700/125
    < 21%: 600/125
    Charging: 600/125
    Sleep/Standby: 400/125
    Failsafe @ 125°F - 600/125

    Advanced settings:
    Sampling rate: 55000
    Up Threshold: 75%
    Ignore Nice Load: 0
    Powersave Bias: 32