Overclocking Moto Droid issues.

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by juise, Jun 1, 2010.

  1. juise
    Offline

    juise New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I have a rooted 2.1 Verizon Moto Droid. I tried to overclock it using the evilboot8.img I am an experienced Linux user so I understand the concepts of whats going on.

    Heres what I did.
    boot to recovery (Clockworkmod Recovery v1.8.1.4)
    mount /system
    mount /sdcard
    adb command prompt in windows
    cd /system/bin
    flash_image boot /sdcard/evilboot8.img
    unmount /system
    unmount /sdcard
    reboot

    it just sits at the M Motorola logo.

    I knew I had a back up (from rooting the phone). I didn't need to look up a guide to do it because the procress is the same.

    boot back to recovery
    mount /system
    mount /sdcard
    adb command prompt from windows
    cd /system/bin
    flash_image boot /sdcard/nandroid/2.1_rooted_fresh/boot.img
    unmount /system
    unmount/sdcard
    reboot

    everything works fine.

    So either the evilboot8.zip I downloaded is garbage or theres something else going on. My flash_image obviously works because I was able to use it to restore my backup. Any ideas or a link to known good evilboot8.zip will be appreciated.

    Thanks
     
  2. hookerdj
    Offline

    hookerdj Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,814
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    pittsburgh
    Ratings:
    +0
    why wouldnt you just use setcpu to overclock?


     
  3. juise
    Offline

    juise New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0

    a)I wanted to do it for free.

    b)I tried one of the free CPU setting programs (I dont recall which one right now) and it couldnt produce speeds above the stock 550. So I figured there must be something done at boot that was limiting it to 550 (I could be way off on that, who knows).

    Also I dont want to use a complete custom ROM to do it because I like my phone as it is now. I just want to run at 800.
     
  4. hookerdj
    Offline

    hookerdj Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,814
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    pittsburgh
    Ratings:
    +0
    just go get setcpu in the market open it up then hit the menu key hit autodetect then you can go higher than 550. You do need to load up a custom kernel though. you cant just overclock the droid you need to put in a kernel first then you can overclock

    What are you basically just stock now ? rooted right/?
     
  5. juise
    Offline

    juise New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0

    Yeah

    2.1 stock
    Rooted
    Clockworkmod Recovery v1.8.1.4
    Thats about it.

    I really want to keep it as stock as possible though. Again I dont really want to pay for an overclocking app. Paying for linux programs is just wrong. :)
     
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2010
  6. hookerdj
    Offline

    hookerdj Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,814
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    pittsburgh
    Ratings:
    +0
    here try this kernel ill link you up now and give you directions how fast do you wanna go so i can link you to the right one?
     
  7. hookerdj
    Offline

    hookerdj Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,814
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    pittsburgh
    Ratings:
    +0
    are you on rom manager by the way?