Overclocking Install/FAQs

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by 52brandon, Feb 17, 2010.

  1. 52brandon

    52brandon Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,019
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +19
    Seems to be the most popular topic with the most questions...
    (I'm not a developer, nor did I stay at a holiday inn express last night. But I have had to do everything I've listed here more times than I care to count and these commands worked for me every time) Hopefully this will help

    What you need:
    -Rooted phone with SPRecovery
    -Overclocked kernel or ROM loaded with overclocked kernel (kernel = boot.img)
    -SetCPU
    -Android SDK configured for ADB shell

    please be familiar with those things before reading any further

    alldroid 1200mhz kernel I use: http://www.mediafire.com/?dlizwymigzl corresponding tiwlan: http://www.mediafire.com/?2zzjaygketmtasmanian droid's kernels& tiwlan are all in this thread: http://alldroid.org/viewtopic.php?f=312&t=2115I honestly can't navigate their site for the life of me, but the sholes kernel is at sholes.info

    Instructions:


    first and foremost, make a backup. Always make a backup



    Install OC kernel
    -download the OC kernel of choice (most can be found on alldroid, with the exception of sholes, who's should be on their site, sholes.info)
    -install OC kernel (the tasmanian_droid's nandroid method is the easiest, just put it in your nandroid file and advanced restore using that file and only check to restore boot) otherwise you need adb shell
    -to install with ADB Shell
    reboot phone into recovery
    mount /system
    mount /sdcard
    -Run the adb command (form PC):
    adb shell /system/bin/flash_image boot /sdcard/TazKern1000m.img (or whatever the file name)
    (where xbin is xbin or bin depending on location of flash_image file on phone)
    unmount /system
    unmount /sdcard
    reboot
    -install SetCPU, can be found on the market

    Configuration
    -open setCPU (give it all SU permissions)
    -select "autodetect" not "droid"
    -set max speed, min speed and profiles (should you choose to)

    now you're officially overclocked





    Common problems:

    No WIFI (you will unfortunately need adb shell to fix)
    -download tiwlan_drv.ko from same location as the kernel
    -place tiwlan file on /sdcard
    -boot into recovery
    -run these commands from PC through ADB shell
    adb shell
    mount /system
    mount /sdcard
    cp /system/lib/modules/tiwlan_drv.ko tiwlan_drv.ko.bak
    cat /sdcard/tiwlan_drv.ko > /system/lib/modules/tiwlan_drv.ko
    chmod 644 /system/lib/modules/tiwlan_drv.ko
    reboot


    Phone is getting hotter:
    -It's working harder that's going to happen
    -you can get Temp Monitor from the market (great program, highly recommended)
    -as far as acceptable temps, the chip is rated to 70C, I hit 110-120F all the time. Do whatever makes
    you comfortable


    Phone freezes and reboots or wont even boot:
    -your phone isn't stable at that speed, lower it or change to a lower kernel
    -if it doesnt even boot, boot into recovery and restore your backup





    I know I'm forgetting stuff, I will add to the list as other problems/solutions arise...
     
    #1 52brandon, Feb 17, 2010
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2010
  2. natediddy1120

    natediddy1120 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,180
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    ???
    Ratings:
    +1
    Dude......that is SO confusing to me, and I've did this without the nandroid files SO many fxcking times it's outrageous.....I can't imagine what that would look like to a newb! lol
     
  3. 52brandon

    52brandon Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,019
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +19
    damn, really? I tried to break it down step by step... lemme try and pretty it up a little lol

    any better?
     
    #3 52brandon, Feb 17, 2010
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2010
  4. polack

    polack Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Ratings:
    +0
    You've just made it abundantly clear "i'm screwed". Sorry man but that is insane. I'm just gonna leave my phone alone at this time.
     
  5. 52brandon

    52brandon Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,019
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +19
    lol, sorry. It's actually pretty simple if you learn about Android SDK/ADB Shell
     
  6. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    Its as complicated as you want to make it. Iridium it like this:

    1. Downloaded Sholesmod from market (5.00).
    2. Rooted phone with above.
    3. Installed sholesmod.
    4. Downloaded and installed SetCPU from Market.
    5. Use autoselect
    6. Set speed to Min. 500 MHz Max 1.0Ghz
    7. Set up profiles (use common sense)
    8. Set CPU Governor to Performance or Conservative.

    There. That's not so bad, is it? :)
     
  7. 52brandon

    52brandon Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,019
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +19
    lol, easier, but if there's a mistake it's harder to tell them how to fix it...
     
  8. beneharris

    beneharris Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    portland
    Ratings:
    +0
    it would be easier if you put links to all the files people have to download in the actual post. along with a bit more drawn out instructions. these make it seem like people know what they are doing a bit. if your doing it for noobs, this is probably still a llittle assumptional.

    also, you don't have instructions on how to set up temp monitor to run off hte cpu temp :) good start though
     
  9. Martin030908

    Martin030908 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    Don't forget 'ondemand' for governor setting. :) Balance of speed and battery life.
     
  10. 52brandon

    52brandon Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,019
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +19
    fair enough. Temp monitor you just open the setting and check processor temp at the bottom...
     
  11. microsnook

    microsnook Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can this be done using the Terminal Emulator instead?
    Idk how to use ADB
    Let me know, thanks
     
  12. 52brandon

    52brandon Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,019
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +19
    no it cant. You must apply while booted into recovery. It can be done with sholes mod updater or droid root pro. But I HIGHLY suggest learning ADB, it's not very hard to figure out and any issue you have with your phone can be fixed with it