Overclocking in SS 4.96

Discussion in 'ChevyNo1' started by DroidLvr73, Jan 18, 2011.

  1. DroidLvr73

    DroidLvr73 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    Noob here to ROMS and Overclocking. SS 4.96 is my first ROM and I like it. However I am not understanding exactly how to adjust the Overclocking settings. In ChevyNo1 Tools there is an option to click but then it directs you to /system/xbin/chevyno1/setscaling.d1 Please can someone give me a step by step on how to access this. Lost on where to get access to the file. Any help would be appreciated. Ty!
     
  2. Larry_ThaGr81

    Larry_ThaGr81 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Hesperia
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've been overclocking long before Chevy added the ability to overclock directly to his ROMS. I as well as many other use SetCPU for overclocking, which isn't free. I think it cost $2 but it takes the guess work out of overclocking. So if you decide to go the SetCPU route, let me know and I can help you out with that approach if needed.
     
  3. DroidLvr73

    DroidLvr73 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you Larry, was aware of SetCPU but was under the impression you could change the Kernel settings without in in Chevy's Rom. Just trying to learn how to do that so I have the option. If no answers will definitely use the SetCPU option as it is use full for any and all ROMS.
     
  4. DroidLvr73

    DroidLvr73 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    Guess not a reply worthy topic. I downloaded SetCPU so technically question is resolved. Thanks
     
  5. tbone73

    tbone73 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    791
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    A little tip I wanted to share.


    You can edit the overclocking file. Here is what I did for mine...and the rom is faster and smooth!


    The chevy tool overclock applies the file located in:

    /system/xbin/chevyno1/setscaling.d1


    The kernel that come stock has interactive scaling...so...

    Using root explorer, long press, open this setscaling.d1 file in text editor.

    Should see

    # minimum maximum governor
    250000 1250000 ondemand


    thats what it said, This sets scaling to 250mhz min and 1250 mhz max.

    I edited this file to say

    # minimum maximum governor
    250000 900000 interactive


    This changes to 900 mhz max and interactive scaling.

    You can change it to whatever you wish to overclock to. 1000000 is 1ghz.

    Then just go to chevytools and check the overclock. Reboot.

    QUOTE: CREDIT TO: Yakitori
     
    #5 tbone73, Jan 24, 2011
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2011
  6. yakitori

    yakitori Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,548
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    DFW Texas
    Ratings:
    +10
    hey...that looks familiar! lol
     
  7. tbone73

    tbone73 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    791
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    You can't improve on perfection so, I COPIED ans PASTED LOL :) you da'man!!!
     
  8. tbone73

    tbone73 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    791
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a question. I went in to setscaling.d1 and edited to 400000 to 1000000 interactive, and it saved the file and then re-edit to 300000 to 1000000 ondemand and it saved that one too. And i still have the original one too. I have three now, but I can't really remember which one is the original. Is this a .bak file? or does it not have an extension?
     
  9. ChevyNo1

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +5
    setscaling.d1 is the original - .d1 is the extension
     
  10. tbone73

    tbone73 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    791
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cool, thanks Chevy. I don't know what i did but i gave it a .bak extension. I renamed it and deleted the other two. I then opened setcpu up because that's what i have been using and set it to ondemand and 600 max and 125min. I then froze it with TB.
    I set the setscaling.d1 to 400Mhz and 1000Mhz interactive. I checked the box and rebooted.
    I then defrosted setcpu and the same readings I gave it were still there and to confirm I am using ROM scaling I set the "auto Detect" in setcpu and my ROM 400 to 1000GHz returned so i know im on ROM scaling, I then Froze setcpu again to disable it in my system. Thanks again Chevy....
     
Search tags for this page

razr .d1