Overclocking App for Apex 1.4?

Discussion in 'Droid X Roms' started by gudziel1482, Feb 16, 2011.

  1. gudziel1482
    Offline

    gudziel1482 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Would it be necessary or a problem to use an overclocking application in conjuction with Apex 1.4?

    Which is the best App for this ROM?

    Where can I find information on the best settings to set everything at?
  2. devortex
    Offline

    devortex Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Necessary: Not, not really. There is no "need" to overclock.

    Problem: No, no problem as long as you know what your doing.

    I prefer jrummy's droid overclock app https://market.android.com/details?id=com.jrummy.droidx.overclock There is an option in there under settings for "boot type" and you can select android service. This'll ensure that you do not overwrite any of the Apex startup files and will still provide you with overclocking on reboot.

    Just be careful to test out any overclock settings you make before setting it to start on boot. If you pick a combo that locks up your phone, you can get stuck in a bootloop.

    Fab also includes jrummy's overclock scripts in apex, so you can open terminal emulator and type:
    su
    overclock

    then follow the prompts from there. I think you get the same stuff you get from the app, maybe you can't do custom settings, I can't remember since I use the app.
  3. tinmannick
    Offline

    tinmannick New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm using Droid X Overclock by Jrummy and it's working with no problems. I have not used the overclocking script in the Apextoolbox, I'm sure it works great as does the whole ROM itself. This is is a paid app in the Market and it makes things very easy (for me at least). The overclocking app in the Apex Toolbox is already there, no need to buy it.

    As for what setting, you really have to play around with it. Every phones CPU is not created equal. Start at 1.0 Ghz and play around with it for a while. If it works fine with no issues, bugs, crashes, etc go up to the next increment setting and test again for a day or so. And keep repeating until you find your phones CPU limit.

    ALWAYS make a Nandroid backup before you start messing around with your phone. And make sure you are comfortable with the Clockwork Bootstrapper app in case you need to restore. It's not as hard as it seems just be prepared. :)
  4. DebianDog
    Offline

    DebianDog Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Virginia
    Or if you want the best/lowest voltage and safest clock speed. Spend $2 download Quick Clock advanced and be done with it ;)

  5. gudziel1482
    Offline

    gudziel1482 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you for your reply. Is there a site you can recommend that they have posted the best, most widely used settings for the DX?
  6. gudziel1482
    Offline

    gudziel1482 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was actually deciding between the two apps:

    -- Quickclock Adv. Overclock
    -- JRummy's

    Is Quickclock safe to use with Apex 1.4?
  7. Scallywag1
    Offline

    Scallywag1 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am using it now. Just use the calibrate option to figure out what the high and low settings for ur phone are.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  8. gudziel1482
    Offline

    gudziel1482 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thx to everyone!

    I'm going to give the Quickclock Adv. Overclock a try. It appears to be much more user friendly for an ignorant overclocker like myself. :D

    PS. Thanks for the video link there Debian!!!! :D
  9. DebianDog
    Offline

    DebianDog Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Virginia
    The only thing it lacks is a widget and he is working on it.
  10. gudziel1482
    Offline

    gudziel1482 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Awesome! Thanks Debian! I appreciate your help!