OverClocking 101

Discussion in 'Tech Guides for root users' started by Skull One, May 28, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. missp64

    missp64 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    [​IMG]
     
  2. missp64

    missp64 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    yea the 1000 mhz slot is up to 94000 now
     
  3. Skull One

    Skull One Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    759
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Your last snapshot shows slot 6 of your kernel at 410065. I believe that is an error. Which means you either need a reboot or a new kernel. Otherwise you are now in a area I have never seen or have a clue how to troubleshoot.
     
  4. missp64

    missp64 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    setcpu

    i kIND of feel powerful ....to have the Skull stumpted...anyway this stuff is kool and its not a big deal running 1000 off and on. if you come up with any thoughts in the future on it i'd be interested to hear them. charlie

    ps thanks for all your input for setcpu
     
  5. mjforte

    mjforte Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Question, someone told me that for your screen off profile you should always have 3 slots for the cpu to clock in between. Is this true?
     
  6. Skull One

    Skull One Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    759
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6

    That's a new one on me. And I can't think of a single reason why the Android OS would need that. All the OS needs is enough speed to keep up with the background tasks. So you could set the clock to stay at 600Mhz (one slot) and it shouldn't care in the least. Now if you set the clock to stay at 125Mhz only, I could see that causing an issue ;)
     
  7. wingdo

    wingdo Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,036
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Chicago
    Ratings:
    +1
    Never heard of this. What I do know is that when plugged into a dock the Droid will run with the 3rd slot as it's minimum speed and this cannot be changed.
     
  8. mjforte

    mjforte Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok thanks for the quick responses. I didn't think that sounded right but just wanted some clarification.
     
  9. djgriffin

    djgriffin New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have set the advanced tab section to 32000, 75, 0 , 50 but setcpu resets the advanced tab with each boot to 30000, 93, 0, 0. at boot. I have checked the set at boot tab when I reconfigure, but it always resets. Any suggestions of how to fix this?
     
  10. jksell07

    jksell07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    In your subconscious
    Ratings:
    +0
    Check out post #309 / page 31...

    "You are actually dealing with a whole new issue that is a design flaw in SetCPU. The developer doesn't keep separate settings for each type of Governor. So as you switch between them, their min/max settings and difference between what is needed corrupts each other. Which is one of the reasons I stick with OnDemand across all profiles."

    Do you have more than one governor setting amongst your profiles?

    dancedroidGreat thread! I started out looking for info on SetCPU's advanced settings and ended up reading through this whole thread (which took the better part of the day). I learned a lot and was inspired enough to finally chime in.

    I wanted to throw something else into the mix...Gingerbread.

    I'm running LGBv1.2 with a Raidzero 1.1kernal(Standard/medium voltage?). When I'm really going at it I can kill my battery in half a day. Using SetCPU profiles I can make it last all day but I'm throttled back most of the day. Anything new for 2.3?
     
  11. Skull One

    Skull One Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    759
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    I am impressed you were able to read it all without falling asleep ;)

    Android OS 2.3 will be a bigger battery drainer than 2.2. The main reason is the amount of new code introduced that hasn't been optimized yet. Which is why most phone makers will wait for 2.4 before they release an update. 2.4 will be the fully optimized version of 2.3's new features plus the integration of 3.0s API calls for tablets.
     
  12. djgriffin

    djgriffin New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Learning from the master!

    Skull, I just wanted to let you know that I'm an instructor for EMS (Paramedics), I read all 61 pages and learned a great deal. This was my first attempt at rooting my phone and I am very happy. Thanks for this work, I have linked several friends to the tutorial!

    Update:
    I uninstalled Setcpu and went back to GPA 10 ROM from Pete which was the most stable for me (after trying 11 and 12). I then installed the slayher_7x1100LV_v1.6 and after rebooting I re-installed setcpu. The problems with setcpu were resolved. I am using "on demand" for all profiles. I am only using the "temp >44.6" (250/600) and "battery <40%"(250/600) profiles.
    The slayher kernel brought the advanced settings to 32000,93,0,0 which I have stuck with for a few days of testing.
    I also installed autoruns after reading one of your posts.

    I did a Quadrant test and scored 1167 on the full bench test. Battery life has been averaging about 19-24 hours. I use an unusual battery scheme similar to EMS and Fire radio batteries. I use two standard batteries and a small external charger. When one is drained, I rotate the other into the phone. So each battery is used every other day. This has worked well for me.

    Bat and CPU temps have all been less than 90 (F).

    My only issue has been the loss of LED notifications (even tried some LED apps with no luck). I am still working on the LED issue, but my phone is like new and runs really fast.

    Again, Many thanks to the instructor!!

    Droid 1
    ROM: GBA 10
    Kernel: slayher_7x1100LV_v1.6
     
    #624 djgriffin, Feb 22, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2011
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Search tags for this page
android clocking
,
android ignore nice load
,
android nice load
,
clocking android
,
con up threshold
,
ignore nice load
,
ignore nice load android
,
nice load
,
nice load android
,

overclocking 101