Overclocked droid to 1000Mhz and it's still clunky?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by combat_chuck, May 21, 2010.

  1. combat_chuck

    combat_chuck Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I recently rooted my droid, installed DarkEdge and overclocked to 1000Mhz, but it still seems kinda laggy. I was expecting a 66% increase in processor speed to make everything run SUPER smooth. Also, I get a lot of force closes on the basic adroid system stuff (stuff like "com.google.android.providers.gmail"). I even have 'advanced task killer' kill every app except 'setcpu' and itself whenever I turn off the screen, so it's not a lack of memory.

    I was wondering if anyone could help me understand why my droid is acting like this. The whole process seemed pretty smooth (after I started over) and I followed the guides very closely.
     
  2. cereal killer

    cereal killer Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    11,397
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +1,426
    Current Phone Model:
    Nokia Lumia Icon
    Get rid of that advanced task killer and do not use it. They cause more problems than they solve.

    Delete/reboot and watch your device fly.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  3. DroidBoy22

    DroidBoy22 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Ratings:
    +0
    Agreed, except for watch the device fly. I'm running at 1.2GHz and honestly it's faster, and A LOT more smoother, but I still get some lag once in a while when flipping through different home screens too quick.
     
  4. Moondonkey

    Moondonkey Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did you do a clean wipe when you installed the last ROM?

    I have experienced "clunkiness" before when I switched to/from certain ROMS without doing a wipe and fresh install.
     
  5. pepsi149

    pepsi149 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    walla walla
    Ratings:
    +0
    i lagged with darkedge....try plain ese81 rom....or one of the ese81 roms out there....bbv1.0....ss3.2....nexbeast1.1....they r fast....i use dominator 2.0...super speed...i use auto killer....put ignore on all apps that you want running...kill apps in background....you will notice a totally diffrent phone...and battery life thats crazy running fast kernels
    hope this helped
     
  6. cereal killer

    cereal killer Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    11,397
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +1,426
    Current Phone Model:
    Nokia Lumia Icon
    What kernel are you using?

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  7. pepsi149

    pepsi149 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    walla walla
    Ratings:
    +0
    dominator 2.0......jakes 1.1,,,,,,or jakes spec.....way fast kernels
     
  8. cereal killer

    cereal killer Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    11,397
    Likes Received:
    1,279
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +1,426
    Current Phone Model:
    Nokia Lumia Icon
    In regards to your post above I agree. Running a stock ESE81 is the bezt bet. I'm running the Dark Edge ROM along with the UI clocked at 800/800 and have excellent performance.

    Their ROM plays VERY nicely with the theme.

    Running Chevy's kernel



    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  9. DroidBoy22

    DroidBoy22 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm running BB V1.0 with Petes 7 slot slot kernal. Its fast, but. I compared it to the stock Incredible at Verzon and that phone switches between home screen without a hiccup. Also compared it to the Iphone and that flips through smoother. Am I by any putting down ROM, Kernal, or Droid? Not at all. Just not as fluid compared to the Incredible or Iphone in my opinion.
     
  10. pepsi149

    pepsi149 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    walla walla
    Ratings:
    +0
    when i pushed the framework...it worked for a little while....like a day....but battery was failing quik....and got tons of fc....that was on the dark ese81....tried on dominator...it worked...but fc....so i installed all but framework....and worked really good....then i ran into nexbeast 1.0.1,,,any was hooked on the way it looked and ran....only run 500/600...battery life is insane....i flop between dom and nexbeast....ill prolly load up darkedge again this weekend and play with it.....
     
  11. ZeNiTH

    ZeNiTH New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    What exactly is 'clunky' still?

    Try using LauncherPro Beta, it is a very fast home screen replacement with a lot more options.
     
  12. pepsi149

    pepsi149 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    walla walla
    Ratings:
    +0
    just wait.......2.2 froyo...is gonna be insane!!!
     
Search tags for this page
galaxy y overclock 1000mhz
,

is 1000 mhz fast