Overclocked droid temp

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by pyrofreak, Mar 29, 2010.

DroidForums.net is the premier Android Forum - Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
  1. pyrofreak
    Offline

    pyrofreak Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Northeast TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ive rooted and hacked my droid its been that way for months and i just overclocked to 900 and i was wondering about what temp the droid should run at. I've never seen it go above 105 and i was running the 600mhz. When should i start to worry or stop and let it cool down? if it gets to 105 ill usually take a break and let it cool but is running it at that temp fine?

    thanks,
    cody
  2. rjharding
    Offline

    rjharding New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wondering the same thing.
  3. Hugh Jass
    Offline

    Hugh Jass Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,607
    Likes Received:
    88
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Ratings:
    +88
    I've had my Droid at 160F for 30-40 minutes and the result was nothing, that was a month ago and it still runs like brand new.

    Don't worry about it. Just set your fail-safe in SetCPU to like 140F at 550 or 600mhz. :)
  4. bmcclory
    Offline

    bmcclory New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    mine

    Had my 900mhz motodroid reach 125 degrees farenheit while using nav apps while plugged in.
  5. pyrofreak
    Offline

    pyrofreak Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Northeast TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    How do you set a fail safe?
  6. Hugh Jass
    Offline

    Hugh Jass Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,607
    Likes Received:
    88
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Ratings:
    +88
    Open SetCPU > Profiles > scroll to the bottom for Failsafe Profile > Modify > set your temp.

    Be sure to enable both the profile under modify and at the top of the profile overview.

    Done. :)
  7. pyrofreak
    Offline

    pyrofreak Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Northeast TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    I only have charging sleep/standby and power < (set)% I've had this set cpu for awhile should I buy the one in the market?
  8. Hugh Jass
    Offline

    Hugh Jass Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,607
    Likes Received:
    88
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Ratings:
    +88
    Huh, I didn't know there were different versions!

    And yea I'd recommend it just to be safe. As the saying goes, better safe than sorry, especially for chump change.
  9. pyrofreak
    Offline

    pyrofreak Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Northeast TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    yeah its an old version i got off the web when i downloaded v2.5 of smoked glass rom .99 cents or hundreds to buy a new droid lol kinda a no brainier thanks for the help
  10. pyrofreak
    Offline

    pyrofreak Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Northeast TN
    Ratings:
    +0

    when you say set it to 140F at 550 or 600mhz will the fail safe kick in if im running at 900mhz-1ghz?
  11. 52brandon
    Offline

    52brandon Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,019
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +19
    yes, it will put you dowwn to 550 when the temp goes over 140

    I hit 153 today, made me a bit nervous haha
  12. pyrofreak
    Offline

    pyrofreak Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Northeast TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    haha ive never seen above 107 with my droid and it feels d@mn hot I'd hate to see what 150 feels like. i love this fourm i dunno what I'd do without you guys.
  13. Hugh Jass
    Offline

    Hugh Jass Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,607
    Likes Received:
    88
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Ratings:
    +88
    As mentioned yes. If your not comfortable with a temp that high, set it to 120 or 130, but I'm no longer worried about these temps at all personally. IMO, the Droid is nearly bulletproof. :)
  14. Hugh Jass
    Offline

    Hugh Jass Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,607
    Likes Received:
    88
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Ratings:
    +88
    The temp is at the location of the actual chip it's self, it does reach a point where you'd have to run at that temp for longer periods of time for the outside to heat up any more. By the time it reaches the case, the heat is dissipated too quickly to really be able to tell. I've seen it go 140 and it felt on the outside like it was running around 90. It would take quite a while for it to get scary hot to the feel.
  15. pyrofreak
    Offline

    pyrofreak Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Northeast TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    and that is why DROIDDOES :icon_ banana: i bet an iphone cant dance like that