overclock question

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by j5tj@aol.com, Feb 25, 2010.

1. j5tj@aol.com

j5tj@aol.com New Member

Im gettin my droid in march and have been reading a lot lately about everything droid related. I found a bunch of articles saying that overclocking is a must do for the phone and some saying that it really isn't that necessary. Im pretty sure that I will root my phone and throw the smoked glass rom on there. And so finally my question is do I need to overclock it or if I leave it alone will the phone be slower with the smoked glass rom than the original. sorry about the long post this is my first time.
  2. EpyonZeroX

EpyonZeroX New Member

basically makes it faster, scrolling through screens, pictures, interwebs, etc. makes it fun and fast and kinda just sticks it to the apple fanboys be like..*crouch chop* whatup!
  3. KZIWarrior

KZIWarrior Active Member

:welcome:
    To be honest as of late the ROM plays a much more important factor in performance that OCing. The newest ROMs are VERY fast compared to the stock 2.0.1 ROM even at stock speed (550Mhz). A slight OC to 800 is really all that's needed to make the new ROMs fly and with the exception of benchmark scores you won't really see a difference in any apps or normal use. This will become even more the case by the time you get yours.
  4. pc747

pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

5. CorvetteAustin24

CorvetteAustin24 New Member

Like the other posters have said, it's not necessary, but can load things quicker and make the system seem a little smoother, plus if you enjoy tinkering with stuff, overclocking is just fun.

I run a lot of widgets, so I notice a difference more than others might with a more bare set of home screens.
  6. j5tj@aol.com

j5tj@aol.com New Member

Yea I know where your comin from on tinkering with stuff lol, my only concern is the overall battery life along with frying the processor
  7. rooted_default

rooted_default New Member