Overclock question!?!?!?!?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by Lynx, Jan 27, 2010.

  1. Lynx

    Lynx Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok so I overclocked my droid to 1GHz yesterday. This morning I installed Pete's Beastly Beauty ROM thats running at 800MHz and I want to get it to run at 1GHz. However when I am in adb and trying to flash it it is saying "permission denied". I still have root access on my phone, but dont know what the deal is. any ideas?
     
  2. JhankG

    JhankG Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,090
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is it saying that when you type su?
     
  3. Lynx

    Lynx Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    not when the phone is not in recovery mode, but to flash the image I need it in recovery mode correct?
     
  4. srtfool32

    srtfool32 Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,370
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    IL
    Ratings:
    +0
    correct.

    enter recovery mode:

    adb shell

    su

    then the flash command - cant think of it off the top of my head.
     
  5. Lynx

    Lynx Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thats what I was doing, it worked flawless yesterday for me at work. Than I tried it at home last night (was going to go to 900MHz and it kept saying "not found"). And now this, I dont get it... Ill try it one more time ugh....

    Edit 1: when I am in recovery mode its saying "su" not found... wtf????
     
  6. Newton122189

    Newton122189 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    627
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +0
    reboot into recovery - adb reboot recovery (on pc)
    adb shell (on pc)
    su (on pc)
    (in recovery menu) mount /sdcard
    flash_image boot /sdcard/"name of boot.img file" (on pc)
    (in recovery menu) umount /sdcard
    exit (on pc)
    adb reboot recovery (on pc) or (in recovery menu) reboot system


    that should do it
     
  7. Newton122189

    Newton122189 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    627
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +0

    if you are sure you have root then you might just want to reboot your computer, i was having adb issues yesterday and a reboot fixed it
     
  8. Lynx

    Lynx Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    It asked me for SU permissions when I was using droidroothelper. So I would assume I do... how can I verify this?\

    Edit: I ran terminal emulator, and typed 'su' when the $ sign came up and it worked fine. I dont understand why its not working on adb. Do I have to give it 'su' permissions??
     
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2010
  9. tats_06

    tats_06 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    http://www.mydroidworld.com
    Ratings:
    +0
    I also noticed that when adb is activated on phone, and su is typed in cmd, there is a pop up on phone that asks to allow or deny. ;)
     
  10. Newton122189

    Newton122189 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    627
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +0
    did you try rebooting your computer, sometimes its not a problem with your phone
     
  11. Lynx

    Lynx Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes I did reboot. I will try again in a few minutes (im at work). What im not getting is when the phone is plugged in and not in SPrecovery, it notices 'su' but when its in recovery it gets denied.

    Edit 1: Ok so despite all this, when my phone rebooted, the setCPU widget was readin 999MHz as my max. I opened it up and it appears to be running 1GHz. Not sure what happened lol. Either way im happy though.
     
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2010
  12. Newton122189

    Newton122189 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    627
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +0
    well alright then, lol
     
  13. Lynx

    Lynx Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Lol ya, not sure what happened. I went into adb shell and typed out the command on alldroid (adb shell /system/xbin/ etc etc..... and nothing happened (didnt get denied or anything). So I restarted and boom, I can bump it up to 999 Mhz lol. Electronics are gonna give me gray hair lol.
     
  14. Bear in NM

    Bear in NM Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,389
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +1
    At least you have hair. I seem to be getting shinier and shinier by the day due to the phone:)

    Craig
     
  15. JhankG

    JhankG Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,090
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did you cd to the SDK tools folder before running ./adb shell?


    *Edit* Just saw you got it working!
     
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2010