OverClock Droid X/Droid 2... Is 2GHz Okay?

Discussion in 'Android News' started by WenWM, Oct 22, 2010.

  1. WenWM
    Offline

    WenWM Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    642
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Ratings:
    +4
    OverClock Your Droid X/Droid 2... Is 2GHz Okay?

    [​IMG]


    If you are looking for a new speed boost for your Droid X or Droid 2, a new developer seems to have a solution to your problem. Today an article on AndroidCentral seems to point to a guy that supposedly has an over clock method which safely get’s the new Droid’s to an unthinkable speed of 2 GHz. The article does not give you any step by steps or things in that nature but just a video that can be watched if desired.

    Due to the lack of information the article seemed a bit fishy and the developers of SetCPU thought so too when they said "Okay, the 2GHz video is a deliberate and obvious hoax, not even confusion." Now I don’t know about you but that kind of speed is a little hard to believe, and to make matters worse, a trusted developer that we all know and love seems to think this is a fake as well. Like AndroidCentral said, I want to believe you, but come on, just give us a little proof in the form of a quick painless Benchmark test.

    Does anyone believe in this over clock rumor (what I shall call it until actual proof is released) or do you all side with SetCPU’s developer in calling this a fake. Let’s get the comments rolling in this thread.

    Update Can you believe it... They went passed 2 Ghz... Now in the 3 Ghz turf. Check out the picture

    Update V2 Our member silvasrt4 just put a smile on my face with this picture:
    [​IMG]
     
  2. barski
    Offline

    barski Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm sure its possible, 1.4ghz is getting common, i guess you could say, with people who overclocked there X or D2.
    At 2ghz I cant imagine the CPU lasting to long. Just like with computers and overclocking heat is always an issue.
     
  3. kennydied23
    Offline

    kennydied23 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Ratings:
    +2
    Lol the video shows 3ghz.
     
  4. Yakuzagang5
    Offline

    Yakuzagang5 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    complete bull crap. all he did was modify setcpu to show permanent text Max 3000 and min 300. and it was clearly 3000, dunno where the OP got 2000 lol no offence
     
  5. bomber889
    Offline

    bomber889 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    862
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +0
    seems even laggier than normal lol
     
  6. billygalbreath
    Offline

    billygalbreath Member Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    Fake.

    Another thing to note, looks like he was moving in slow motion, then played the video back at 2x speed to make it appear to be faster CPU speeds.

    Definitely a fake.
     
  7. INSANENEIVIESIS
    Offline

    INSANENEIVIESIS Active Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,288
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    seeing as how the droid 2 processor specs listed here cant handle the supposed speed, THIS IS FAKE:

    Type: OMAP 3630

    Manufacturer: Texas Instruments

    Year Released: 2009

    Predecessor: 32bit Texas Instruments OMAP 3430

    CPU Structure (complexity): RISC

    Width of Machine Word: 32 bit

    Primary (RAM) Data bus: 32 bit

    Secondary (ROM) Data bus: 32 bit

    Supported Instruction Set(s): ARMv7

    CPU Core: ARM Cortex-A8

    Recommanded Maximum Clock Frequency: 720 MHz

    Level 1 cache: 32KiB data cache / 32 KiB instruction cache

    Semiconductor Technology: CMOS

    Minimum Feature Size: 45 nm

    Contacts: 515 pins

    Special Features: Embedded 430MHz TI TMS320C64x DSP, Embedded image signal processor (12MP camera support), 2D/3D graphics acceleration (IVA 2+), Imagination Technologies POWERVR SGX SGX530 graphics core (OpenGL ES 1.1, OpenGL ES 2.0, OpenVG), SmartReflex technologies, M-shield mobile security, ARM TrustZone, Composite and S-video TV output, XGA/WXGA 16M-color (24-bit definition) display support, High Speed USB2.0 On-The-Go support

    on a brighter note i believe this processor can handle around 1.4ghz but i would be shocked to see it at 3ghz, thats faster than my old laptop.
     
  8. tiggerxplur
    Offline

    tiggerxplur Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    651
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ
    Ratings:
    +1
  9. Abe21599
    Offline

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +30
    thats faster than my current laptop!
     
  10. INSANENEIVIESIS
    Offline

    INSANENEIVIESIS Active Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,288
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    exactly my point, but your laptop's processor is completely different then the ARM processor on the phone.
     
  11. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,139
    Likes Received:
    208
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +213
    The first thing that made me think its fake. Min slider all the up, yet stayed at 300. Read 3000 max 300 min. If it was real would have read 3000 max 3000 min.

    Sent from somewhere...
     
  12. Matt4542
    Offline

    Matt4542 Member Developer

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    You understand how stupid that sounds right?
     
  13. Matt4542
    Offline

    Matt4542 Member Developer

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    Your saying that is possible to do with a VIDEO?
     
  14. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,139
    Likes Received:
    208
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +213
    I'm saying setcpu was altered to show those speeds. That phone was slow for 1.2 ghz let alone 3ghz.

    Sent from somewhere...
     
  15. Matt4542
    Offline

    Matt4542 Member Developer

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    Would you like my APK and what I used to get it to these speeds? I will provide it willingly.
     
Search tags for this page
2 ghz
,
android overclock 2ghz
,

droid 2 global overclock

,
droid x overclock 2ghz
,
droid x2 2ghz
,
droid2 2ghz
,
how to overclock a droid 2 to 2ghz
,
how to overclock droidx to 2ghz
,
overclock droid x
,
overclocking android 2ghz