Overclock - A REAL new phone experience.

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by wil318466, Jan 30, 2010.

  1. wil318466

    wil318466 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    684
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    People say that having a new home app changes the "experience". I think they are somewhat correct, but I wanted to let you guys know if you overclock the Droid, everything changes.

    I went with the flash to 800 mhz to test it out, and my jaw dropped. Screens fly by, instant response. THIS is how the Droid should have been released. I know, I know, they did it for a reason and I overclock at my own risk.. but its well worth it.

    I'm also getting better battery life. That may be because I'm setting the sleep setting at half the speed of the regular sleep setting, so when the phone is hibernating its really using very little power. Whatever the case, I dig it.


    The instructions and threads are in the "hacks" section. It takes a bit of work, but its well worth it.

    Disclaimer : I did get a few force closes and random reboot or two, but I pulled the battery, did a reboot, and everything seems VERY stable.

    ** Please note : The above disclaimer is now invalid. I've re-installed the 2.1 800 MHZ ROM the correct way. Erased every single thing, formatted the directories, THEN installed, and reinstalled my apps and GDE. 100% rock solid. No more USB reboots. Did not want my incorrect methods of installation to shy anyone away from trying it. Absolutely amazing. ****



    Edited : Here is the link in case you screw something up, which, inevitably, people will. Myself included.

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/dr...st-way-get-back-stock-no-root-no-busybox.html



    -Wil
     
  2. KZIWarrior

    KZIWarrior Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,609
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks for the review. I've been thinking about it but haven't got around to it yet. Might take the plunge tomorrow. Trying to figure out which ROM I want to go with.
     
  3. deputc26

    deputc26 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Lol, I guarantee the FCs were from something else, I've been running stable at 950mhz since it came out and there's guys who are stable at 1.1ghz, never heard of 800mhz messing anyone up but I guess your chip could have come off a bad wafer.
     
  4. tu3218

    tu3218 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    Ratings:
    +0
    For those with experience with winmo, is this process of rooting and over-clocking the droid similar to flashing to a different rom on windows mobile?
     
  5. wil318466

    wil318466 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    684
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey it could have been exactly that, that it was just a FC that I "thought" was weird. It just seemed strange I had 2 FCs within 15 minutes of my overclock.

    You are right though, I'm very stable. NO real issues, no heating or anything funky like that, and the best part... NO lag.

    -Wil
     
  6. SSHGuru

    SSHGuru Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,824
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    Ratings:
    +30
    Can't you hurt your phone this way?
     
  7. wil318466

    wil318466 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    684
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0

    You don't need a ROM. I installed a rom and immediately uninstalled it. I like the way my phone is set up now.

    I went with this guide :

    AllDroid - View topic - Droid is stable at 800MHz. Nuff said *950MHz, 1.1GHz added*

    flashed the evilboot8.img file (this took me forever, I was running in circles getting SPrecovery, nandroid files, etc etc) and set setCPU to "detect speed" and my phone just straight up rocks.


    Maybe you'll get lucky and you can do the whole process in under 30 minutes.. it was a 3 hour odyssey for me last night. But, I was bored and I love doing this kind of stuff so its time well spent, and the results were fantastic.


    -Wil
     
  8. wil318466

    wil318466 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    684
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not sure. There are always people who are scared to overclock anything, and I've always been that with with CPU chips.

    But with this, I'm overclocking and keeping it overclocked. I don't care, there's no way I'd go back to the 550 MHZ regular setting. I have it set at 800 MHZ and it feels twice as fast. Not kidding.

    Personally, I wouldn't do the whole 1.1 ghz thing (becuase people were saying some people had stability issues, and I don't want to deal with that) but the 800 MHZ is great.


    -Wil
     
  9. cpjr

    cpjr Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,596
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Ratings:
    +0
    Overclocking forces the processor to work harder then it was intended too, soooo...yes there is a chance of damaging it.

    But.......I think its worth it :D Ive been at 1ghz for a week no issues.
     
  10. deputc26

    deputc26 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    No, not unless you raise the voltage or get REALLY hot (like 80deg C)
     
  11. peterjariel

    peterjariel Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey to do this. U need flash image, what is that sorry new to this. Or where can I get it
     
  12. gentlefury

    gentlefury Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    The chip that the Droid employees is rated from 600Mhz to 1Ghz+ so the stock 550Mhz is actually underclocked to below its minimum rating.

    As far as I've experienced 800Mhz runs perfectly! Everything is smooth, there are no odd random restarts and no slowdowns. I tried 950Mhz and it had a little bit of slowdown occasionally, which spells instability (more than likely because of the kernal, not the CPU) 1.1 Ghz wouldn't even boot for me. So I have come to the conclusion that this version of the kernal and this OS version 800Mhz is where it should have been shipped.
     
Search tags for this page

droid bionic overclock experience