Outlook

Discussion in 'Casio G'zOne Commando' started by joan3, May 7, 2011.

1. joan3

joan3 New Member

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

Please excuse my ignorance, but I've never had a smart phone of any kind, and I'm considering getting a Casio Commando (I'm a geologist and work in rivers, so any non-rugged phone won't really work for me).

After reading through many forums about the issues on other Android phones syncing with Outlook e-mails, I want to be sure I understand if this phone has similar challenges. I use Outlook for my business (small business, no Exchange server). I have 2 e-mail accounts that are POP/SMTP and feed into Outlook. From what I understand, it is not possible with any phone running the Android OS to sync e-mails with non-Exchange based Outlook, even through 3rd party software, which means that I would not be able to sync my e-mails between this phone and the Outlook on my PC. Is this correct or am I missing something?

Will it be possible to look at any new e-mails with this phone while I'm away from my PC (assuming the PC is off, so not collecting e-mails) by directly checking the 2 e-mail accounts?

My son has suggested setting up a g-mail account, which would be fine if it was for personal use, but this is for my business so I really can't go switching e-mails.

Thanks for any help, and again, sorry if I am asking silly questions or seem confused (I am!!) I just want to make sure I know how this will (or won't) work as I'm trying to decide if I will purchase it or not. I'm on AT&T right now, and I don't believe they have any rugged smart phones. I guess what I really need is a rugged phone with a Windows operating system!

P.S. One more question. The specs on the phone say it has a standby time of 11 days, but the reviews on this forum say they have to charge it every day? I guess I don't understand that either.
  2. Graymayre

Graymayre Member

Ratings:
    +1