1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Outlook email pushed to Droid?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by longhorn31, Oct 27, 2009.

  1. longhorn31
    Offline

    longhorn31 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sorry if this is a stupid question... I have a BB now and my company won't buy a BES license for me, so I use BIS to push Outlook email to my BB. Will the coming Moto Droid ((VZW) do this?

    How about syncing calendars and contacts? BB's desktop manager is a pain....lots of duplicate calendar items and system errors.

    I'm overdue for a new phone - currently have a BB Pearl.
  2. JohnDroid
    Online

    JohnDroid Guest

    Android does support push email so I don't see a problem getting this to work with your Moto Droid.
  3. New2u
    Offline

    New2u Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,628
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    Andriod fully supports exchange. It can sync emails and contacts and calenders from what i read. Unless you use a different emailing system. but either way push email is quite a basic function of a smart phone, if the droid didn't have it.. i would be super surprised.
  4. BoilerUp
    Offline

    BoilerUp New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What if our company does not use Exchange. We use a mail system called Smarter Mail which is an IMAP connection. Will the push still work?
  5. JohnDroid
    Online

    JohnDroid Guest

    The push shouldn't have anything to do with IMAP. You may have to forward mail to an external email address (like a Gmail) to get the Push features.
  6. PalmEnvy
    Offline

    PalmEnvy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If I can extend this conversation.

    What about outlook calendar and tasks. I do not use exchange at work and I would prefer not to sync with Google Calendar and tasks. Just because I have "big brother" paranoia issues.

    I am coming from a Palm 755p and looking for some option where i can sync from my pc to the Droid via some software application?

    Does anyone know if this will be possible?
  7. New2u
    Offline

    New2u Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,628
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    A lot of nitty gritty issues like that may not be able to be answered until we get the phone in our hands and try. I haven't heard anything on the reviews by anyone yet that didn't have exchange or was trying to do their gmail accounts.
  8. mrpush
    Offline

    mrpush New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Exchange vs Outlook sync...

    Hi,

    We have some serious issues here. People (Verizon included) do not have a clue of what terminology to use concerning sync.

    It appears that there are 2 different type of sync. EXCHANGE SYNC (active sync) and WIRELESS SYNC.

    The latter DOES NOT REQUIRE EXCHANGE SERVER and only requires Outlook installed on a PC with the Wireless Sync software installed there as well.

    ALL sync's happen WITHOUT EXCHANGE server.

    Now, does droid give FULL EXCAHNGE SUPPORT?

    If it does not support syncing TASKS and NOTES, IT DOES NOT FULLY SUPPORT EXCHANGE OR OUTLOOK PERIOD!

    From all my research, the DROID DOES NOT sync notes. Not sure about tasks.

    This is a HALF-BAKED effort if it's true. Makes me mad. Why would they not support ALL sync related data???

    Just irresponsible.

    Thanks!

    MP


  9. dean.collins
    Offline

    dean.collins New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Just be aware that if you are using Exchange Activesync that pushes emails,contacts etc to your phone you HAVE to purchase the $44.99 plan and NOT the $29.99 data plan.



    Cheers,
    Dean
  10. Donsell
    Offline

    Donsell New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Dean -

    This has been clarified a number of times. You DO NOT need the more expensive plan if you're syncing with your company's Exchange server, only if you're using Verizon's Exchange service.
  11. fegriffith
    Offline

    fegriffith New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My situation is similar to the OP...work won't allow a personal Blackberry on their BES so I was getting my e-mail via BIS.

    I had no issues getting the e-mail set up on the Blackberry, however I can not seem to get the exchange e-mail set up on the droid. I know what I was using for my user name and exchange server on the Blackberry. I'm stuck on domain. AND...when I called tech support they informed me that Android does not support OWA so if the exchange server I was using on the Blackberry was actually an OWA exchange server, then that sounds to me like I can't get anything work related on the droid.

    Does anyone have any suggestions here? I'm stuck.
  12. Donsell
    Offline

    Donsell New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This is what the manual says:

    Enter your user name (username@company.com),
    password, email address, and server details
    including domain name and security type (server
    address is the same URL you use to access your
    company’s email using the Web on your computer).

    Make sure the security settings are correct. Our server requires SSL
  13. fegriffith
    Offline

    fegriffith New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you for the quick reply. I think the domain is the issue. Is the domain usually just one word...or an actual address? Is it usually the same as the exchange?

    In my case I use mail.mycompany.com for the exchange server.
  14. dean.collins
    Offline

    dean.collins New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0


    That was my understanding as well - HOWEVER - As i have been told by two seperate Verzion employees YOU MUST buy the $44.99 plan if you want to use EXCHANGE ACTIVESYNC even on your own servers.
  15. uptheforest
    Offline

    uptheforest New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Eutawville, SC
    yeah im having huse problems with setting up my outlook email.

    myusername@companyname.com

    Its hosted by volusion and i can get into it in my browser by either typing mail.companyname.com or mail.volusion.com and then logging in but cannot get it set up directly on my phone. what gives?
  16. fegriffith
    Offline

    fegriffith New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    \

    Tech support has told me that the Droid does not support Outlook Web Access. I'm very worried that I'm not going to be able to get my e-mail on this device and it IS a deal breaker.
  17. uptheforest
    Offline

    uptheforest New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Eutawville, SC
    hmmm does the eris?
  18. poof100
    Offline

    poof100 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you don't have access to your company's Exchange server and use the BES, then yes, you use the BIS and almost all exchange emails go through the OWA to push the emails. If you look at the Storm email setup, you should see it goes to the owa site for email. Unless you are allowed to connect to the company's Exchange server and use BES, most of us use BIS and OWA.

    If the Droid doesnt support OWA, this is a HUGE deal. I was ready to toss my Storm in the trash until I read this. I'm stopping by the store tonight to play with all the new phones.
  19. BigTex71
    Offline

    BigTex71 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Keller, TX
    The Droid DOES indeed support OWA. I just set mine up through my company. I am the Network Administrator, so I know what I am talking about (not just saying this to be a fan boi.)
    The cool thing is that it does push email, calendar, and contacts through the OWA connection - the iPhones in our company only gets push email through OWA. So that is another great thing Droid has over the iPhone.
    To answer another question someone asked, the DOMAIN is a one word name (usually the company name, but check with your admins.) The EXCHANGE SERVER is the 'mail.mycompany.com' address.
    I will try to answer any other questions that I can regarding the Exchange compatability.
  20. smallprint
    Offline

    smallprint New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Having major issues connecting to our Exchange 2003 Standard. Need help!

    I know my settings are correct
    Domainname\username
    PW
    Exchange.DOMAINNAME.com


    The phone is able to see and connect to the server. I know this because I can see the phone in the Exchange Remote Wipe Utility.

    The phone is only downloading the users calandar! I removed and reentered the account, and it was able to download the contacts and calandar, but no email yet.

    I am wondering if the exchange setting "Enfoce Password on Device" is killing the connections. Any thoughts?! I have also disabled the gmail account that was created on this phone (i guess verizon makes you set one up?!)

    Help!
Search tags for this page
how to get e-mail on a droid
,

how to get outlook email on droid

,
how to push outlook configurations to android devices
,
how to push outlook email android
,
how to push outlook email to android phone
,
how to push outlook to verizon phone
,
how to push outlook webmail droid
,
how to setup outlook web access on android s3
,
outlook email push to android
,
outlook push corporate email
,
outlook push email android
,
publix outlook web access
,
push outlook calendar to droid 2014
,
push outlook email to android
,
www.webmail.publix.com