Out of country

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by kevin1016, May 1, 2010.

  1. kevin1016
    Offline

    kevin1016 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've heard the Droid doesn't work internationally. Is that true of voice and data or just voice?
  2. kevin1016
    Offline

    kevin1016 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Bump..........
  3. Vitticeps
    Offline

    Vitticeps New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    517
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Droid doesn't work internationally because it's a CDMA phone and many parts of the world are very GSM dominant. If you're in a part of the world with CDMA coverage then you might be fine. If you're in a GSM dominant area, you'll be out of luck.
  4. kevin1016
    Offline

    kevin1016 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the response. Anyone know about Cancun?
  5. Vitticeps
    Offline

    Vitticeps New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    517
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, it will work in Cancun.

    I seem to remember there being some benefit to calling Verizon and telling them when you plan to travel to get on an international roaming plan of sorts. Not required but makes calls cheaper. International roaming is charged per minute and not included in your monthly minute allowance.

    I could be wrong on that but I'm pretty sure I read that in one of the few fine prints I actually read on a contract. I am certain that it will work in Cancun however.
  6. takeshi
    Offline

    takeshi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,600
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Don't forget that the VZW has such info:
    Calling From Mexico

    The coverage map can be hard to read but there's a list of covered cities/states/provinces.
  7. FLE
    Offline

    FLE New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Biloxi, MS
    Agree if you want to use a phone out of the USA and Parts of Canada. you need a gsm phone. troll the net you can rent them with pre-paid time and everything.
Search tags for this page

do droids work out of the country

,

do verizon phones work in cancun

,

droid 3 out of counrty calls

,

why doesn't the droid x work internationaly?