OTA with CWM on Boot installed

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR Hacks' started by BobC43, Dec 21, 2011.

  1. BobC43
    Offline

    BobC43 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Has anyone installed the OTA that has the CWM on Boot installed. If so, how did you do it? I know I can use an OTA root keeper and remove root before doing the OTA, but I am concerned about the CWM on boot being a problem.
  2. akiles
    Offline

    akiles New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fredericksburg, VA
    As long as you keep /system/ intact, cwm *should* not be a problem. I don't think you need to unroot to receive/install the update either. Check out the OTA thread on the hacks section.

    Some of us are having issues with that particular update file because we (or at least I) modified some stuff.
  3. Einsteindks
    Online

    Einsteindks Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2011
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    CWM on boot seems to have survived the update well enough. Update only barfed when it didn't find a number of codex files.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
  4. BobC43
    Offline

    BobC43 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I too completed the update. I used Voodoo Rootkeeper and all we well.
  5. jcho123
    Offline

    jcho123 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California
    anyone try to replace the "preinstall" folder with the stock unrooted preinstall folder before trying to flash the ota update?
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2011
  6. BobC43
    Offline

    BobC43 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No, I did not need to fool with the preinstall folder as mine was intact.
  7. jcho123
    Offline

    jcho123 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California
    I only uninstalled one app on accident (Lets Play Golf 2 HD) and I couldn't apply the OTA update. I was reading on another forum about how the OTA update checks your "preinstall" folder before the install. So there was a way to replace your "preinstall" folder with an unmodified one, but since this is such a new thing I'm not 100% sure. Can somebody can chime in on this if they know any other information.
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2011
  8. akiles
    Offline

    akiles New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fredericksburg, VA
    Go to the OTA thread and read all 11 pages -many people had issues and there are some solutions there. The skinny: get the files that you need and move them to your razr, make sure the permissions match and you may get it to work.
Search tags for this page
cwm prevent ota update
,
cwm prevents ota
,
enable ota cwm
,
enable ota on cwm
,

how do i get a 100% completion in let's golf 2

,
how do i get a 100% completion in let's golf 2#gsc.tab