OTA update wont install

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Bionic' started by OhSteelerfan, Dec 11, 2011.

  1. OhSteelerfan

    OhSteelerfan New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have forever root and running liberty 2.0. I have not installed any of the leaks. I'm on 5.5.886. I can dl the ota but it fails to update. I even flashed back to stock rom but then it would not even dl the ota. Any suggestions? Thanks.
     
  2. dags5000

    dags5000 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    After restoring 100% back to stock apply the update.manually. its in numerous forum posts. Or simply download the 5.5.893 leak and apply manually. U must apply in stock recovery not cwm. Note the 5.5.893 leak IS IDENTICAL to the official update. They ate the same. Si just download and apply and you are good

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  3. Crazed_Z06

    Crazed_Z06 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    San Diego
    Ratings:
    +4
    Will using the leak wipe the phone? Will it delete all my apps and everything?
     
  4. Tonik

    Tonik Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +67
    Question, for my own knowledge base. Applying the leak in stock recovery is why it works over the 'OTA' that fails in a standard update scenerio. Somehow stock recovery bypasses the 'check'? Do I have that figured out correctly?
     
  5. Tonik

    Tonik Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +67
    No, all your stuff will still be there. Be patient when it reboots the first time. It takes longer than usual. Don't freak out and pull the battery or anything like that.
     
  6. Batman8

    Batman8 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    386
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +30
    Can anyone confirm that the leaked OR official OTA .893 update fixes the option to install your apps to the physical SDcard? I run out of room EVERYDAY within the 8GB of space that the apps data folders currently have to be placed in. All I am concerned with is being able to use ALL the data from my 32GB card. I have tons of Gameloft games for example and have no where to store the very large data folders anymore so I had to remove most of my games when upgrading to the Bionic from my Droid-X.

    Please tell me this has been fixed, as I read that it would be with the latest update! Thanks.
     
  7. Tonik

    Tonik Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +67
    Sorta fixed, but still buggy. If you move it to SD and reboot the icon goes generic after a reboot but the app still works. The work around for that is to delete the icon, then go to your all apps menu and long press the icon there and pick send to home screen. That icon sticks through reboots. What I am describing may be app related, I am not seeing this bug on all apps.
     
  8. Dave12308

    Dave12308 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,253
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +50
    You're seeing the icon cache being built before the sd card is fully mounted. This is an issue with all Droids since moving to SD became possible.
     
  9. Tonik

    Tonik Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +67
    So when I pull it from the 'all apps' menu as I describe it is getting that icon from somewhere else? The icons from that menu are on the system memory? That would make sense...the all apps menu is generated by the system. Just adding to my knowledge...TIA.
     
  10. Batman8

    Batman8 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    386
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +30
    Sounds good. At least it works now! Thanks for the info Tonik. Now all I have to do is find a way to perform the upgrade since I did install one of the leaks a couple of months ago. I reverted back to stock long ago but have heard that I will still run into issues.

    I have not even been able to pull the OTA update yet so I'm thinking about the leaked .893 but I just don't feel that it is really the exact same thing as what is being pushed out now by Moto/Verizon.
     
  11. Tonik

    Tonik Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +67
    They are the same. I know that is a giant debate here but the file size, the numbers and most importantly according to two other people the MD5 hash is the same. I THINK we can use the official update via recovery mode. I will be trying that in the next day or two just for laughs. I will certainly report my findings. I am still a bit of a noob at this, so take what I say on that subject with a grain of salt.
     
Search tags for this page

cwm flash of stock 5.5.893

,

droid x wont install ota