Ota update over leaked update

Discussion in 'Droid 3 Hacks' started by horr1blek1tten, Oct 3, 2011.

  1. horr1blek1tten
    Offline

    horr1blek1tten New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Okay i installed the leaked update and it worked wonders for my phone all problems gone. I just have ocd about updates and i Want to know if i can install the official ota over the leaked update without incident. I dont wanna sfb cause im flashed to cricket.

    Sent from my DROID3 using Tapatalk
  2. tcrews
    Offline

    tcrews Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,354
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    Leak and OTA are the same.
  3. horr1blek1tten
    Offline

    horr1blek1tten New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Are you Sure? Is there a website where I can read this?

    Sent from my DROID3 using Tapatalk
  4. spice
    Offline

    spice New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    They send the update out to a small sample of d3 owners and get their feedback about how it addressed any issues and how their phone is working after updating. They call this a leak, or soak test. It's the same update they plan to release en masse, but they let a small group of people try it out first. If they get feedback that indicates the update works well, they make it available to everyone.

    There recently was a gingerbread update available for the droid incredible. It caused a lot of problems for people who installed it after they released it to everybody, so they yanked it. They will improve it and rerelease it when it's ready. This is what they try to avoid by utilizing a "leak" or "soak test".

    Sent from my DROI D3 using DroidForums
  5. horr1blek1tten
    Offline

    horr1blek1tten New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Oh I thought the soak test was like a beta and they'd fix anything if it didn't work

    Sent from my DROID3 using Tapatalk
  6. ndoren
    Offline

    ndoren New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The leaked update and the official OTA update are identical. It's been verified by several ROM developers, including HashCode over at XDA, who verified the file checksums of the zip files. Tom Crews, commenting above, is a reputable developer and his word would have been enough for me anyway :)

    Yes, you can install the official OTA over the leaked update, which is nothing more than applying the OTA twice (obviously, since they're the same update). There just isn't any point to this, well, except for I made a goof. I actually did apply the update twice, as I didn't like the version of swype included with the update, but accidentally blew away the only version on my phone in the process of trying to install the swype beta. At any rate, I finally got the swype beta installed and working well, but during that process I did apply the OTA update zip twice to help fix my swype screw up. No harm in doing so, but certainly no point either, and probably just asking for trouble if you do it for no good reason. Neall
    1 person likes this.
  7. horr1blek1tten
    Offline

    horr1blek1tten New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is there any harm in doing so? Like at all?

    Sent from my DROID3 using Tapatalk
  8. ndoren
    Offline

    ndoren New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Didn't harm me, but your mileage may vary. Again, I don't see the point in reflashing this update twice, unless you have some specific reason. The leaked OTA and official one are the same, so why bother. In my case, I reflashed the OTA nearly immediately after the first, because I made a goof to the system, and it caused no harm. Maybe if you wait days or weeks, then reflash it, perhaps it could cause a problem, because I have no idea how it configures Dalvik cash, clears data areas, or whatever.
  9. horr1blek1tten
    Offline

    horr1blek1tten New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Okay thanks

    Sent from my DROID3 using Tapatalk
  10. Mugen
    Offline

    Mugen New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I checked my phone and my brother in laws phone. Seems everything is the same but the PRL Version. Whats the PRL Version anyways?

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  11. horr1blek1tten
    Offline

    horr1blek1tten New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Prls are. Preffered roaming lists.it just updates. Your coveragemaps and whatnot

    Sent from my DROID3 using Tapatalk
  12. Fr33dom
    Offline

    Fr33dom New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ... a list of towers. Update it with *226 and choose option 2.
  13. mrailing
    Offline

    mrailing New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Actually it's *228 option 2.