OTA Update on Rooted Thunderbolt

Discussion in 'Thunderbolt Tech Support' started by ThunderboltIconiaTab, Nov 28, 2011.

  1. ThunderboltIconiaTab
    Offline

    ThunderboltIconiaTab New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Verizon shoved out an Update in October. My phone was rooted but I had a stock rom. Luckily, the phone didn't brick and I've been able to use it. However, all root required programs tell me that my phone is no longer rooted, and when I attempt to root it, the revolutionary root application tells me my phone has s-off. In the boot space, my top banner reads: MECHA XD ENG S-OFF; HBOOT 1.04.2000 PG051000. It was rooted back in late July, early august. I do not recall the software I used at the time.

    My main questions are:

    From the information provided, can you tell which root software I used?
    Can I unroot it?
    Can I re-root it?
    Is there a way to provide more information to make it more clear as to what happened?
     
  2. ppcjunkie
    Offline

    ppcjunkie New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    rerooting your Thunderbolt

    The first thing I would try is to do a factory reset via recovery. If this doesn't fix the problem then go to what I have posted below.

    I have done it using jcase and team's method posted on android police and on xda. The long method using android debugging and adb will fix your issues. Make sure you use the latest version of adroid debugging and the last updated long root method using adb. If you live in NC I'll gladly help you out doing it.

    Hope you get things back right.

    Oh another thing, jcase has an unroot method that is simple and works. Its on android police's website as well.

    Ppcjunkie
     
  3. ThunderboltIconiaTab
    Offline

    ThunderboltIconiaTab New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    While I recognize that in order to get root again I will probably have to wipe my memory, is there anyway to avoid it?
     
  4. Palazuelosva
    Offline

    Palazuelosva Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Los Angeles CA.
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same here they keep shoVing an update up my nose but since I'm rooted it just fails then bricks my phone but a factory reset fixes it every week

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
  5. ThunderboltIconiaTab
    Offline

    ThunderboltIconiaTab New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So do you just re root it after the factory reset?

     
  6. ThunderboltIconiaTab
    Offline

    ThunderboltIconiaTab New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I attempted to do a factory reset. However the system automatically boots to the load images and asks if I want to update. I may be pressing something I don't intend to, however, I do not believe I am and I have been unable to change the line before it automatically shifts out. It does not read like the reboot issues I have seen discussed in the past.

     
Search tags for this page
ota code 402
,

ota update rooted thunderbolt

,
revolutionary thunderbolt root
,
rom htc thunderbolt (verizon) adr6400lvw
,
root htc adr6400lvw
,
update rooted htc thunderbolt
,
update thunderbolt rooted