1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

OTA Update Fails

Discussion in 'HTC Rezound' started by DaDroidDude, May 9, 2012.

  1. DaDroidDude
    Offline

    DaDroidDude New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi All.
    I just downloaded and began installation of an OTA update that failed.
    I have a Rooted Rezound though none of the bloat has been removed.
    I believe I'm using Ramon Ra Recovery.
    The error message is as follows:

    RA Revamped
    Build RaVIGOR v3.13 getitnowmarketing
    Finding Update Package
    Opening Update Package
    Installing Update
    Copying fotaBootto /data/system ffor customizereload
    Verifying current system...
    assert failtd: apply_patch_chek (*/system/app/Blockbuster.apk", "5da851E unknown command [d17b077ac213846d4b48890788a7c2e84b",]
    E. Error in /cache/fumo/OTAPkg.zip
    [Status 7}
    Installation aborted.

    Any idea why this is and how I fix it?
    Is this update really necessary with ICS coming?

    Thanks
    B
  2. HowardZ
    Offline

    HowardZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    You MUST flash back the stock recovery.

    download it
    PH98IMG-2.01.605.11-vigor-recovery.zip

    Take the recovery_signed.img file out of it and place it in the PC's folder that contains adb and fastboot.

    These are scotty's directions:

    adb devices <-check connectivity

    adb reboot bootloader <-boot to fastboot

    fastboot devices <-again,check connectivity

    fastboot flash recovery recovery_signed.img <-flash recovery

    fastboot reboot <-reboot your phone

    Howard

    P.S. It is possible that you have some additional problem, but I have read that stock recovery is mandatory for any OTA update.

    Also, if you can save your update.zip file from the OTA and share it - this might be helpful for other people.
  3. DaDroidDude
    Offline

    DaDroidDude New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ugh.
    Thanks.
    I can stay rooted though, right?
  4. HowardZ
    Offline

    HowardZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    I think you can be rooted before the OTA, but the OTA update will remove your root.

    I have read that one needs to be STOCK GB before the OTA.
  5. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,435
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    TX
    If you're rooted and able to download it again, once it downloads, before anything else, look in the /cache directory for the .zip file and possibly a .crc file - pull/copy those to your sd card, then share! :)

    Do you remember the filesize of the OTA download?

    Also, I know you said you have no bloat removed, but are you sure about blockbuster? (just looking at the error lines...)
  6. DaDroidDude
    Offline

    DaDroidDude New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Before doing this do I boot the phone into recovery mode?
  7. HowardZ
    Offline

    HowardZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    Scotty's directions assume you are
    o booted normally
    o usb cable connected to PC
    o usb mode is charge only
    o usb debugging is enabled in the phone's settings menu.

    Howard
  8. samiusmc
    Offline

    samiusmc New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    756
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You got the ICS OTA?
    1 person likes this.
  9. DaDroidDude
    Offline

    DaDroidDude New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I forgot the specifics on how to use adb.
    Can you direct to URL with instructions, so I don't take anymore of your time?
    Thanks
  10. DaDroidDude
    Offline

    DaDroidDude New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't know if it's ICS or not.
    Let you know when I fix the recovery.
  11. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,435
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    TX
    do you remember the filesize?
  12. HowardZ
    Offline

    HowardZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ok, first you need to have a directory on your hard drive with the adb and fastboot programs and their library files.

    Download this - Scotty gets the credit
    mini-adb.zip

    Put the contents of the zip file into a folder on your PC.
    Perhaps call it C:\Android\
    Or whatever you like.

    Then place the recovery_signed.img file in that directory.

    Then open a Windows command window (looks like the old dos window) and change to the directory C:\Android (or whatever name you gave it)

    Then connect the phone to the PC and perform the commands - you will likely need to wait a while between typing each of the commands.

    Howard
    P.S. I would have thought you went through all this getting Ramon RA recovery installed on your phone.

    P.P.S. Oh, another way to install the stock recovery is to rename the ZIP file(it contained the recovery_signed.img file and another needed file) to be PH98IMG.ZIP and place it on your SD card. Then use bootloader to install it, then delete the ZIP file.
  13. DaDroidDude
    Offline

    DaDroidDude New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    OP here.
    I reflashed the recovery but the update fails.

    I booted into the recovery.
    It says
    Unlocked
    Vigor Put Ship S-ON RL
    HBoot - 2.10.0000
    Oct 5 2011.21:18:4

    at the top.
    Is this the stock recovery?

    B
  14. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,435
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    TX
    Yes that sounds right.

    So it let you download it again? Did you catch the file size? Or try and pull it from /cache?

    sent from my phone
  15. DaDroidDude
    Offline

    DaDroidDude New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    52.5 mb
    Is file size.
    What does that mean?
  16. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,435
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    TX
    That it isn't ICS ;)

    sent from my phone
  17. samiusmc
    Offline

    samiusmc New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    756
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It means it's not ICS. It's the update that was sent out last month. It's minor bug fixes.
  18. DaDroidDude
    Offline

    DaDroidDude New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Do I need it to get ics ?
  19. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,435
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    TX
    Yeah you'll need it to get the official OTA, likely anyway.

    sent from my phone
  20. HowardZ
    Offline

    HowardZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    OK, to take an OTA update, you need to either
    o Have S-OFF, or
    o Have a Locked or Relocked bootloader

    Remember that anytime you unlock the bootloader using your unlockbin file from htcdev, you will be put back to factory defaults.

    So, if you want to take this update you need to relock your bootloader.

    Howard

    P.S. Personally, before I do anything to my phone, I first want to know exactly how to undo the change.
Search tags for this page
htc rezound ota zip
,

htc rezound update failed

,
htc rezound update file location
,
htc update fails
,
ota pre update error
,
ota update device vigor
,

ph98img-2.01.605.11-vigor-recovery.zip

,
recovery signed.img crc error
,
rezound get ota update on rooted
,
rezound ota fail
,

rezound ota update fails

,
rezound update zip location
,
s3 mini
,
verizon ota zip file failed
,
where can i download ph98img