OTA UPDATE DROID 4 AUGUST 18th

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 4' started by xsylus, Aug 18, 2012.

  1. mikekhelxD

    mikekhelxD Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +16
    I still yet to see batt improvement. Did you guys factory reset? I think i'm on my 2nd day, and have charged the phone 4-5 times already without doing much. It just drains away like there isn't tomorrow. Settings are on lowest possible and apps are all killed.
     
  2. drew96dawg

    drew96dawg Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,106
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Mobile Al
    Ratings:
    +26
    Did you do a factory reset? It is highly recommended and will solve most issues people have with the update

    Sent from my DROID2 using Xparent Blue Tapatalk 2
     
  3. Alexis_88

    Alexis_88 Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Kissimmee, Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    I got my update yesterday morning and tried to update my device and it says update failed...my phone is rooted could that the reason?
     
  4. drew96dawg

    drew96dawg Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,106
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Mobile Al
    Ratings:
    +26
    Yes that is the reason you should backup everything and unroot to take the update and once you get it do a factory reset and reroot if you want

    Sent from my DROID2 using Xparent Blue Tapatalk 2
     
  5. orangechoochoo

    orangechoochoo Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1,109
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    On a caboose
    Ratings:
    +12
    Rooting won't cause the update to fail. You most likely have an app or some apps that were modified somehow. Best bet is to flash 219 then check and download the update, or you can RSDLite ICS directly. Either way works fine then you can root ICS using the ICS Root Tool.
     
  6. Alexis_88

    Alexis_88 Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Kissimmee, Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok and how do I flash 219?
     
  7. jjh35

    jjh35 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, for the person you were referencing. When I got the GB update, any of the APK files that I had removed had to be placed back on the phone, or it would keep failing. Luckily someone on here posted the full droid4, and I knew what I had deleted. 'Root' is just admin rights, people tend to think it's more sophisticated than it is...
     
  8. Alexis_88

    Alexis_88 Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Kissimmee, Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just use motofail to root and I didn't delete any system files or anything
     
  9. jjh35

    jjh35 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do you have any frozen, or uninstalled with Titanium Backup?
     
  10. Alexis_88

    Alexis_88 Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Kissimmee, Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    No I don't
     
  11. mikekhelxD

    mikekhelxD Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +16
    Anyone knows a good backup app for unrooted users?
     
  12. Alexis_88

    Alexis_88 Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Kissimmee, Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can anyone help??
     
  13. jjh35

    jjh35 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    you may want to see if the ICS droid4 update file is floating around as zip file and load it manually in the maintenance/service mode, it should show u the errors on what stopping it.
     
  14. Alexis_88

    Alexis_88 Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Kissimmee, Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have no idea how to do that lol can u walk me through it?
     
  15. jjh35

    jjh35 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I haven't looked to see if the zip file of the update is out there, I'd have to look around.
     
Search tags for this page
cricket over the air programming droid4
,
cricket wireless tweeks
,

droid 4 ota

,
sch i800 ota failed