OTA Update 10/4/2011

Discussion in 'Droid Bionic Hacks' started by xraymo3, Oct 5, 2011.

  1. xraymo3

    xraymo3 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did anyone else get an OTA update pushed to their phone last night? I FINALLY got my Bionic rooted using the old D3 root and as I was going to bed it was trying to push an update. I ignored it, but when I woke up this am, its still trying to download. It finally errored out, and went away. But I have no service now. No 3g, or 4g.

    Obviously I dont want the update b/c Im rooted. I finally got my phone how I wanted it and now this. So frustrated. Any suggestions on what I should do? I've pulled the battery, restarted several times. Also whenever I restart my phone, the OTA update tried to load again... everytime
     
  2. GohanBurner

    GohanBurner Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    516
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Waukesha, WI
    Ratings:
    +2
    I just checked my update thing...no update available. Maybe they are soak testing an update! In that case, I'd upgrade.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
    #2 GohanBurner, Oct 5, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2011
  3. xraymo3

    xraymo3 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I thought that I couldnt update with Root, and its not recommended. Also, even if i wanted to update, I couldnt because like I posted in OP, i get an error everytime it tried to update. Everytime I reboot my phone it attempts and after 15-20 minutes it fails.
     
  4. chilipepprflea

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    When I check for an update it says "Check for update is not available at this time. Try again later."

    Is that what everyone who's rooted gets?
     
  5. xraymo3

    xraymo3 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    When I check for the update it says that the update in resume in a few seconds. But it never will work because I do not have service since it decided to do this. And im rooted.
     
  6. Cinoib

    Cinoib Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm rooted (SuperOneClick), hacked (SqLite tether edit), htc Since homescreen and other non application market Apps. Several days ago nothing worked. After sim card & battery in outs still nothing. Finally 4g restored but no calling ability. Eventually I spoke with Verizon. Did the 228 thing (I know... has no effect on 4g phone). I never saw an ota update though.

    Phone worked once I headed to work. I believe the tower failed.

    Point is, go on a drive b4 messing around with settings and Verizon. It could be the tower you're using.

    Don't we have to a accept an ota or reject it? I. e. can't I refuse the ota and keep my Bionic the way I want?

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  7. Cinoib

    Cinoib Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I get that same message cilliepepprfly mentioned. I really don't want ota. It's like a knock on the door at 3 am. Nothing good comes from it (well, that's unless Moto gets religion and decides to ota open bootloader - NOT).

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  8. xraymo3

    xraymo3 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I rejected it, and woke up 5 hours later to it trying to update.
    I drive 30 minutes to work, and that didnt help. Called Verizon, she tried to reset me, no help.
    She suggests that I Factory reset. I need to unroot to do this right?
     
  9. tgyberg

    tgyberg Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,948
    Likes Received:
    301
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Minnesota
    Ratings:
    +325
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL & C
    I froze my updater. Maybe do that, freeze it with TiBu or change the name in Root Explorer.
     
  10. GohanBurner

    GohanBurner Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    516
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Waukesha, WI
    Ratings:
    +2
    I'm rooted and SQLited. No update notification. I know they're working on a bug fix update for us. I'm probably gonna accept because I love updates...lol.

    They're probably just soak testing it right now.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  11. xraymo3

    xraymo3 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    updater 2.3.4?

    Tgyberg, do i have to unroot to factory reset?

    Im concerned that It wont work as I ended up using the D3 root from psouza4 website. The old one for windows 2003. The motorolaoneclick wouldnt work and neither would the Petes motorola root.
     
  12. tgyberg

    tgyberg Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,948
    Likes Received:
    301
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Minnesota
    Ratings:
    +325
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL & C
    ^If you factory reset you should still be rooted. It's always been that way for me. Oh and yes, updater 2.3.4!