OTA took my root away

Discussion in 'Samsung Fascinate' started by ScoobyDoo27, Sep 28, 2010.

  1. ScoobyDoo27

    ScoobyDoo27 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    So last night Verizon decided to update my phone and when I woke up this morning I no longer had root. I still have the superuser app in my app drawer but when I try to use any root only apps it says that I have no root. So do I just use the old way to get root back or is there a new way I'm gonna have to do to get root access back?
     
  2. OB1J3D1

    OB1J3D1 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    did you get 2.2? I suppose it may be a good thing since I heard that rooted Fascinates were having trouble receiving and installing OTA updates.
     
  3. ScoobyDoo27

    ScoobyDoo27 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
  4. TeeJay

    TeeJay New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    yeah.. you can re-root.. that was one of the things going on with the update.. it took away your root but i believe a couple of your root files may still be there..
     
  5. ScoobyDoo27

    ScoobyDoo27 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I tried re-rooting my phone and it said it was successful but when I try to use Titanium Backup or any other root app it says I still don't root access. ShootMe works just fine and my Superuser app is in my app drawer and shows all the apps it allows.

    I don't get it. What am I doing wrong?
     
  6. dricacho

    dricacho Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, I tried to do the update on mine and it said, no updates avaiable.
     
  7. muzhik

    muzhik Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    planet_EaRtH
    Ratings:
    +5
    Current Phone Model:
    OnePlus One
    try this...

    1. download One Click Lag Fix from the market
      • un-root device from that app (if available)
    2. then use that original root method to root it again (link)
    hope this helps.
     
  8. The Droid Lion

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0


    I keep trying to update mine, but it keeps saying that it Failed. :/
     
  9. dricacho

    dricacho Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Ratings:
    +0
    Tried again just now, "NO NEW SOFTWARE UPDATE AVAILABLE". So I thought I'd check the firmware version, it says 2.1-update1 on mine. Can anyone check theirs who have gotten the update and let me know what your firmware version is? Thanks.
     
  10. ScoobyDoo27

    ScoobyDoo27 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mine says 2.1-update1 as well. I gave a link to what the update does. I assume Verizon is still pushing the update out. I remember it took like 2 weeks for everyone to get 2.2 on the Droid.
     
  11. dricacho

    dricacho Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did you get the update yet?

     
  12. ScoobyDoo27

    ScoobyDoo27 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, I got the update the night before I posted this thread because it killed my root and I wanted to make sure it was safe to re-root with it being a new firmware version.
     
Search tags for this page

ota took my root away