1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

OTA took my root away

Discussion in 'Samsung Fascinate' started by ScoobyDoo27, Sep 28, 2010.

  1. ScoobyDoo27
    Offline

    ScoobyDoo27 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So last night Verizon decided to update my phone and when I woke up this morning I no longer had root. I still have the superuser app in my app drawer but when I try to use any root only apps it says that I have no root. So do I just use the old way to get root back or is there a new way I'm gonna have to do to get root access back?
  2. OB1J3D1
    Offline

    OB1J3D1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    did you get 2.2? I suppose it may be a good thing since I heard that rooted Fascinates were having trouble receiving and installing OTA updates.
  3. ScoobyDoo27
    Offline

    ScoobyDoo27 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  4. TeeJay
    Offline

    TeeJay New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yeah.. you can re-root.. that was one of the things going on with the update.. it took away your root but i believe a couple of your root files may still be there..
  5. ScoobyDoo27
    Offline

    ScoobyDoo27 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So I tried re-rooting my phone and it said it was successful but when I try to use Titanium Backup or any other root app it says I still don't root access. ShootMe works just fine and my Superuser app is in my app drawer and shows all the apps it allows.

    I don't get it. What am I doing wrong?
  6. dricacho
    Offline

    dricacho New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Well, I tried to do the update on mine and it said, no updates avaiable.
  7. muzhik
    Offline

    muzhik New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    planet_EaRtH
    try this...

    1. download One Click Lag Fix from the market
      • un-root device from that app (if available)
    2. then use that original root method to root it again (link)
    hope this helps.
  8. The Droid Lion
    Offline

    The Droid Lion New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0


    I keep trying to update mine, but it keeps saying that it Failed. :/
  9. dricacho
    Offline

    dricacho New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Tried again just now, "NO NEW SOFTWARE UPDATE AVAILABLE". So I thought I'd check the firmware version, it says 2.1-update1 on mine. Can anyone check theirs who have gotten the update and let me know what your firmware version is? Thanks.
  10. ScoobyDoo27
    Offline

    ScoobyDoo27 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Mine says 2.1-update1 as well. I gave a link to what the update does. I assume Verizon is still pushing the update out. I remember it took like 2 weeks for everyone to get 2.2 on the Droid.
  11. dricacho
    Offline

    dricacho New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Did you get the update yet?

  12. ScoobyDoo27
    Offline

    ScoobyDoo27 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah, I got the update the night before I posted this thread because it killed my root and I wanted to make sure it was safe to re-root with it being a new firmware version.
Search tags for this page

ota took my root away