OTA rolling out!

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Bionic' started by rdgxray, Dec 9, 2011.

  1. Anathema

    Anathema Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks you :)

    Just to confirm, you installed the leaked updated version 5.7.893, received an OTA update, and it installed?
     
  2. MrToneBonez

    MrToneBonez Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mark Webb ....is it really!? Im using purity 2.5 with the ics tpax. Im hesitant lol

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  3. Amshere

    Amshere New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes., to both questions.



     
  4. GoBigOrGoHome70

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Maple Grove, MN
    Ratings:
    +0
    All,

    I haven't kept up with what has been going on with the leaked updates. I rooted my Bionic, but left it more or less stock. I did use Titanium Backup to remove some bloat. So far I have not been offered the chance to update, and I haven't checked for it. My questions are
    1. Will I be able to update OTA?
    2. Will I keep root?
    3. If not, can I re-root?

    I would just as soon stick with what has been released, even though I root. I haven't been able to determine from the conversation in this thread whether this has been answered.
     
  5. afextwin

    afextwin New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Gobig, same story and questions here

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  6. Stelv

    Stelv Silver Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,656
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Western NY
    Ratings:
    +8
    I have been trying to figure this out all night. Anyone know?

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
     
  7. Anathema

    Anathema Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    1) The early reviews are that you can't update unless you unfreeze bloat (though I'm not sure if this is confirmed)
    2) If you use the 4everroot that is posted here :R3L3AS3DRoot and 43V3R root for the BIONIC v2.1 you will keep root
    3) If you don't have root going into the update, you can still root with this method, and has been done already.
     
  8. short283

    short283 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok I received the OTA update earlier as I stated in a previous post and the camera lag is gone I haven't had any apps dissapear since and my quick contacts are now calling the right people but I am still suffering from data loss issues and it doesn't even seem it improved any either.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  9. Stelv

    Stelv Silver Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,656
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Western NY
    Ratings:
    +8
    Thank you. I just need to unfreeze my bloat now and I should be good.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
     
  10. Terri M

    Terri M Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Kansas
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can say it is the OTA because I personally held onto his phone as it was downloading the OTA.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk

    Remember to hit the "Thanks" button when someone helps you!
     
  11. rjcapp

    rjcapp Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    MD
    Ratings:
    +4
    Make sure u are 4ever rooted or u will loose root. I had to go back, 4ever root, and them install verizon pushed ota.



    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  12. carlz28

    carlz28 Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    820
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    I've seen several screenshots of people who said they got the ota and their about phone showed the baseband(lte part) ending with 01. I flashed the. 893 leak a few weeks ago and my baseband ends with 02. And all the letters are in caps. Attached is my screenshots. Anyone else able to verify this if you flashed the leak?

    [​IMG]

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk